how to win friends and influence people

ooey & gooey

sweet & salty

YIP 365.345: like a bandit

The answer is chocolate cake and beer. Really good chocolate cake and beer. When Anne said she was coming to visit Chicago, a few of us knitters decided to do a little shawl swap. Lauren drew my name and knit me the most fabulous shawl. (Lots of good pictures and details here.) It was so fabulous that she almost didn’t want to give it up but fortunately I was able to ply her with a generous wedge of Sweet & Salty Cake (chocolate cake with fleur de sel caramel and whipped chocolate caramel ganache) that I baked in honor of Anne’s visit. I first made this cake a little over a year ago. I loved it then but using an extra dark cocoa and chocolate liked it even more this time around.

I’ll be back soon with some photos of the shawl I made for Anne. I’m really happy with the way it turned out and had a hard time giving it up too.

6 responses to “how to win friends and influence people

  1. fleur de sel caramels are life changing! the cake looks amaaaazing, just like everything you make. ;)

  2. The cake looks fabulous! And the shawl is stunning!

    I have the opposite problem with anything that I make. I want to give it away! I almost never keep anything. In fact, I would knit more shawls if I could give more away. I even told my sister she needed a shawl, but she said no.

  3. The cake looks delicious! If you have leftovers feel free to beam them my way. :)
    The shawl is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

