snow!

Apologies folks for the long absence. There are many life changes afoot and it’s all I can do to get through my days in one piece. So the possible changes on the horizon?

1) I will be in DC this summer. Precise details, logistics, and a couple of finer points still pending a nail-biting phone conversation or two. This isn’t a huge surprise but one that’s taken several weeks to iron out.
2) I may be in the UK IRELAND (Jeff, I stand corrected) next year for five or six months. Pending long discussion with one of the school’s deans, some major savings (hopefully) accrued over the summer, and a lot of advance planning. Let’s just say I’m hoping to celebrate my next St. Patrick’s Day in Dublin. This is a huge surprise…I’m still adjusting to the idea and thinking of ways to make it happen.
3) I may be staying in my apartment longer than I thought. (I am not happy about this but there a number of tradeoffs to consider, currently in favor of me staying put. The side of me that *hates* (loathes) moving is thrilled. The side of me that hates (loathes!) paying double-rent this summer cringes and winces at damage this will reek on the bank account. Note to self–live close to friends and family so that moves do not require large trucks and expensive storage).

This week’s spring break. It’s been a mix of relaxing and overwhelming as I’ve just realized how behind I’ve fallen on all fronts in life…that is the subject of another post. Last night involved a lovely reunion of my spring break group to Miami last year. It was a long night of cheap beer, northern Minnesota tobacco, poker, and good laughs. I am out $9, but the drinks were free and I’ve resolved to work on my poker face some more. I did respectably well considering that everyone else was speaking in a poker language that I’ve yet to master.

And b/c I’m in love with online quizzes, I couldn’t help myself….

You Are Boston

Both modern and old school, you never forget your roots.
Well educated and a little snobby, you demand the best.
And quite frankly, you think you are the best.

Famous people from the Boston area: Conan O’Brien, Ben Affleck, New Kids on the Block

Don’t know how I feel about the description (or at least that last part) but I do like Boston a lot. So what American city are you?

3 responses to “snow!

  1. Baby!

    I know it was a mistake, but you have to be *DAMN* careful not to call Ireland “the UK” when you’re over there… and frankly, you shouldn’t do it in front of me either.

    It is most definitely not part of the UK in any way shape or form.

    That said, I’m Austin.

    Interesting.

  2. Oh shit.
    I’m Austin.
    Does this mean that I’m Texan?
    What am I going to tell my family?!?

  3. Well Vanessa, if you’re gonna be Texan, you sure as hell should be Austin. (It’s actually a cool town…now if you’d been Houston I’d be worried.)

Leave a Reply

