irrational exuberance (crazy in love)

One final down, two more and a paper to go. The last 72 hours have been grueling to say the very least….as I’m trying to minimize my negativity, I won’t discuss further. ’nuff said there.

Spent the rest of yesterday unwinding with other survivors of the exam, bonding over beer, rockin’ bbq’d meats, bawdy conversation, and shopping. Stacey and I dropped by Patina, our favorite place to spend our non-existant disposable income. (Well, I guess I should speak for myself…Stacey’s already got a killer firm job for the summer that pays boatloads of $$$$s.) I purchased a much needed wallet (lovely black leather and reasonably priced) and a little card/memento for the Mom since the store conveniently reminded me that Mother’s Day is just around the corner. But I refrained from a most irrational purchase…a Jeanine Payer silver Palmer cuff bracelet. $350!!!! Maybe not much in the world of jewelry, but I’m not much of a jewelry person (my constant staples are both gifts from close friends–a silver Kenneth Cole watch and a cherished pair of Baily Banks Biddle silver hoop earrings)…but considering my not-so-bling lifestyle, it’s a lot! Really what drew me to the bracelet is the engraving on it…one of my absolute favorite quotes of all time:

‘Have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, some day far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.’ Rainer Marie Rilke

It has a very, very special place in my heart and reminds me of a much happier period of my life. I’d hoped maybe after a hard summer’s worth of work I might be able to buy myself a nice Coach purse, but I’m considering blowing that plan to invest in this little trinket. Not nearly as practical as a nice leather purse but would mean considerably more to me.

Other loves…I signed up for a sewing class at Crafty Planet right after finals. I’m very excited about it and am looking forward to conquering my fear of my sewing machine. It’ll be a nice break from packing/moving/etc. Yay!

Back to work!

One response to “irrational exuberance (crazy in love)

  1. the silent observer

    you’ve got me addicted to finding cool stuff for my sister…

Leave a Reply

