basket case

fabric basket and elephant pouch from Crafter’s Companion

Thanks to all who’ve been sympathetic of my school-related drama. I don’t want to exaggerate but those of you who know all the gory details know that it’s probably one of the toughest challenges to come my way in a long, long time. Anyway, now that it’s reared its ugly head again this week, I’ve discovered that I have lot of unresolved anger and frustration that don’t have lots of outlets. I felt like hell yesterday so I skipped pilates, stayed home, turned up the ipod, and crafted to my heart’s content. Add to that a long, thoughtful (albeit repetitive) conversation with Jeff last night and a solid 8 hours of sleep, and I feel a lot better and ready to tackle the world again. Which is a good thing really b/c despite all my best efforts to avoid the aforementioned “bitch”, my attendance at a mandatory meeting today means our contact is inevitable.

Anyway, how about some positives? This week I decided to have a go at two projects from the Crafter’s Companion–the fabric basket and the elephant coin pouch. The elephant coin pouch I made on Sunday actually but didn’t get a chance to post a picture of it til now. The fabric basket was worked on over the course of a couple days. It may be hard to see in the picture but the basket is lined with a cute puppy fabric in one of my favorite shades of green. I have tons of pink canvas laying around so I used that (and a crapload of pellon) for the outer part. The emboidered doggy was a last minute addition but I’m quite pleased to see the way it turned out. Now it’s holding all my quilting stuff and perfect for moving things back and forth b/t my work desk, the ironing board, and my dining room table (which currently doubles as my “cutting table”).

Now I must catch up on some reading! Thank goodness it’s almost Friday!

4 responses to “basket case

  1. Ack! That is so cute! You did a great job. I must get that book (and some sewing lessons) but seriously, what great work. Looks like you DO have a creative outlet. 🙂 Hang in there!

  2. That is totally cute! Maybe you can combine your sewing and law skills to make legal briefs :oP

  3. Hooray! It’s great to see people making the projects from the book!

  4. adorable

Leave a Reply

