dok suni

home cookin’
(glazed salmon with race, steamed baby broccoli,
cucumber seaweed salad, chow mein)

I come from a long line of awesome cooks. One of the things that I get most homesick about is my mom’s cooking. The problem is that in spite of all my cooking/baking, I’ve never really learned how to cook Korean food. Korean cooking is not the kind that lends itself to measuring spoons and recipes. It’s always a little of this and a little of that. Although the food is not for the faint of heart, it’s still a balancing act of sweet, sour, and salty and my mom always got it just right.

I’m hoping that this book will help me along and at least get me through the basics. Anna and I picked up these stainless steel plates from a local Indian grocer. Although Anna’s put them to their intended use, I thought they were just as suitable for Korean cooking. At least then all my tupperware won’t smell like garlic and peppers. Plus, it’s just a fun and different presentation for my food…makes the normal meals a little more appealing.

The above meal is a rather Americanized version of a meal typical during my childhood, suited to what I had on hand, which means not terribly Korean. For instance, the chow mein is just some leftovers I had to take care of and the baby broccoli is a stand in for a steamed spinach side my mom always made. The salmon wasn’t a typical staple in our house but my version reminds me a lot about a mackeral dish my mom made. The cucumber seaweed salad, however, is legit. All in all, a hearty and satisfying meal…different ingredients but the right balance of flavors and textures.

4 responses to “dok suni

  1. I love Korean food! I had a Korean roommate when I first moved to NY. She was the one who introduced me to Korean food. The Korean area in Manhattan is open 24 hours, so we would walk over there at 2am for some bone marrow soup and turnip kimchee. Ah..I miss those college days.

  2. i was already really really really happy to be seeing you in May. Now I’m even more so. 🙂

  3. We’re shiny plate buddies! Can’t wait to see what other Korean dishes you’ll whip up.

  4. that looks so good!! lately i’ve been fucking up everything i put in a pot–my cooking mojo is so off.

Leave a Reply

