seven seven o seven

Malin just tagged me to list seven random things about myself and then tag seven other people. So here goes:

1. I got stuck in an elevator when I was five and refused to take one agian until I was 13. I was forced to get over this fear when I attended band camp (I know, nerdy), where I lived on the 14th floor of a large dormitory. You try lugging a french horn up 14 flights of stairs several times a day.

2. Although I now consider the Northwest to be my home, I actually grew up in Kentucky. People seem to think this is strange because: a) I don’t have a Southern accent and b) “there are Koreans in Kentucky?”

3. And although I claim the Northwest as home, I haven’t actually lived there for more than a few weeks at a time since 1998. That’s where my family is and I’m glad to be moving back soon.

4. I was once assaulted by a neo-Nazi in Croatia. That’s probably been the scariest moment of my life.

5. Almost no one thinks I actually look Korean, including Koreans. I kinda resemble my parents but I don’t look like any of my siblings. People have mistaken me for Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Philippino, Mexican, and once even Italian!

6. I almost blew the most important interview (thus far) of my life when one of the interviewers made an extremely racist comment to me. I chose the bite my tongue and ignore the comment and I was admitted.

7. I probably wouldn’t have gone to my undergrad or law school if I hadn’t had stupid crushes on two guys. I liked this guy in high school who really wanted to go to Cornell but applied to my undergrad because it was his sister’s alma mater. It wasn’t even on my list of schools then but I added it even though I knew it was his last choice school. He ended up going to Cornell and lost track of him long, long ago. Fortunately, I really ended up liking my school. And then during undergrad I worked at a big law firm and had a huge crush on one of the associates there. (Alas, he was married.) He was from Minnesota and had attended the U for law school. Again, I don’t think I would’ve applied to the school had I not heard about it from him. And here I am all these years later. Life is strange, isn’t it?

Anyway, I’m tagging:
Jeff
Jess
Dwight
Rebecca
Carolyn
Lynn
Oiyi

The challenge for Jeff and Jess is to list some things I don’t know about them.

5 responses to “seven seven o seven

  1. Ok, I started cracking up at #1. I went to band camp too! Perhaps the same one, since I did live on the 14th floor of the dormitory. However, I did lug my saxophone up and down all the stairs because I was too impatient to wait for the elevator. I also got stuck on an elevator when I was on the 8th grade Washington DC trip, lets see, that’s when I was… 13! How weird!

  2. I think you look Korean… and I think you look a lot like your brothers.

    But what do I know?

    I sure didn’t know the Georgetown story!

    Alright, I’m going to have to think hard about this one, because, well, I tend to tell a lot of stories… so what hasn’t been told yet?

  3. I once almost got assulted by a neo-nazi as well! But it had more to do with my bigh mouth than anything else…

  4. *I* got stuck on an elevator when I was five too! Well, maybe ‘left’ on an elevator is more accurate, but when you’re little and don’t know which floor your daycare is on, you’re pretty much stuck!

    I still feel a bit anxious about people getting into the elevator (train, etc) before the doors close!

  5. the silent observer

    damn it…I was trying to think of interesting things about myself to post, but so far, I have come up with nothing…now, how boring am i?!

Leave a Reply

