unintended consequences

:: cotton lawn ::

:: unfurled ::

A while back Anna was nice enough to share some Liberty fabric she’d picked up on a trip to London. I had no idea it was so pricey so I was glad to get my hands on a smidge. Of course I was then terrified to use it! What if I cut it wrong?? What if sew it wrong??

A couple of days ago I decided to take the plunge. I could stare at the fabric no longer. At first I just wanted a little holder for my bus pass which I keep losing and misplacing. Then I thought I’d make a little cover for a small notebook to carry around. I have a problem with keeping hordes of scrap paper lying around the apartment. I scribble something (usually important) on it and then misplace it or throw it out by accident. I figured having a centralized area to jot things down would help…and that I’d be more motivated to use it if it was pleasant to look at.

I tend to make these things up as I go and depending on how much brain power I have left at the end of the day, this is a good or a bad thing. This time it kinda sucked. I didn’t account too well for my seam allowances and the piping and who knows what else. By the time I’d cut and collected all the pieces it was abundantly clear that this was *not* going to fit. But this is the pricey stuff, right? Can’t just throw it out? The cotton lawn was too delicate to rip out and redo…. Ackkkkkk!

I know. I know. I should be stressed about other things…and believe me, I am. Anyway, I was able to salvage my bits and turn it into a wallet. Somehow the outside just doesn’t look right to me, but I think the inside turned out ok. I was especially pleased with the zipper for the coin pouch…there are few things I hate more than sewing in zippers.

Back to work….whee!

One response to “unintended consequences

  1. Sara I think it’s adorable! It looks like one of the projects in one of the books I just got. I splurged on some sewing books . . . maybe the Amy Butler one? Anyway, I think it’s a keeper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

