head, shoulders, knees and toes

::heidi headband::
(ribbon from Rosa Pomar)

It’s been unbearably hot and humid here but a terrific thunderstorm rolled through here last night and cooled things off considerably. Still, heat or no heat, I hate having hair in my face so:

  1. I’m glad my hair finally grew out long enough to be pulled back properly,
  2. I’m glad I didn’t get bangs cut…I was debating for a while, and
  3. A girl just can’t have enough fun little headbands, right?

I got a copy of Amy Karol’s book recently and am in love with everything in it. It’s one of those rare books where I want to make every pattern in it and think I could actually make every pattern with minimal cursing.

I’ve made another project from the book but am saving pictures of that for when my new camera comes in the mail later this week. (Long essay on the awesomeness of my boyfriend also forthcoming.) Last night I finished up a birthday present (late, of course) for Jess and while waiting for some CDs to burn whipped up a little Heidi Headband from Amy’s book. Just a few minutes of cutting and stitching and very satisfying from the instant gratification point of things. I think I prefer the last headband pattern I tried but really there are things I like about both patterns. I think on my next headband I will try and combine the best of the two. I don’t think there’s anything really wrong with either pattern but on headband #4 it will be nice to be nice to be able to tweak to my personal preferences. That is the benefit of making your own stuff, no?

Heat aside, this was a pretty good weekend. Lots of napping (a luxury that will soon go the way of the dodo), another outing to the Farmers Market, a huge dim sum lunch, and catching the Minneapolis Pops by Lake Harriet with Anna. Oh yeah, and I studied a bit too. Really, I swear…

And since it’s only a mere 15 days until the bar (EEEEEKKKKKK!) you will have to excuse me if I’m not blogging much for the next few weeks.

3 responses to “head, shoulders, knees and toes

  1. good thing you had the camera already picked out!!! 🙂

  2. I bet you can’t wait for that camera!

  3. Ooooh new camera! I’m so excited! Your headband is super cute too… I’ll have to whip some up now!

Leave a Reply

