bend the rules

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


lap quilt, originally uploaded by poohba02.

I tried snapping a good photo of this but it’s sorta hard to capture a quilt just right in a tiny apartment bedroom with little natural light. In a perfect world I’d have the quilt hanging in a yard on a clothesline, gentle breeze billowing behind. But this is reality, I’m impatient and very excited about this so I just had to post it. My first quilt! EEk!!

I know I’ve already raved about Amy’s new book but really, it’s awesome. For the experienced sewer, I think the book provides quick, easy, satisfying projects and for novices sewers (like moi) it gives perfectly attainable projects that gives one a real sense of accomplishment. I can’t tell you know many times I cursed and cried trying to put a quilt together. Something very intimidating about it, I always felt that elaborate patterns were too hard to follow andrie somehow whatever colors I put together never seemed right.

It’s hard to explain but the process of putting this quilt together but it seemed quite reasonable and un-intimidating. Perhaps it’s not needing a walking foot (don’t have one) or just the free form nature of it all (definitely my style) or the fact that it required no pre-washing of fabrics (pain in the ass if you live in an apartment with ancient/expensive washers/dryers). I don’t know, but there was minimal cursing and dare I say it, it was even kinda fun! Maybe that’s what I love about Amy’s book. It makes sewing so enjoyable. It doesn’t shy away from imperfections and individual style. Really, isn’t that what’s crafting all about? If I wanted a perfect looking quilt, I would’ve run out to Target and purchased one.

It took a little over a week for me to make this (before this whole bar study business got outta hand), fitting in little bits and pieces of work between studying but I think an experienced sewer or quilter could zip through this in a weekend quite easily. The longest part was stitching on the quilt binding, which took a little practice, but was a good excuse to catch up on episodes of the Sopranos. The only alterations I made was adding to the quilt’s width and length. I tried to avoid making it intimidatingly large but I really wanted to have a quilt I could have on my bed–even if it’s not quite the right size. The purple border was a complete afterthought but I loved the quilt even more after I added it on. As you can see from the picture, it’s certainly not a queen size quilt but it basically covers the surface of my bed and that’s really all I wanted (for a first quilt).

8 responses to “bend the rules

  1. I love it!!!! I can’t believe that you whipped it out so fast.

  2. first pic with the new camera looks great, baby. Perfect use of the wide lens! 🙂

  3. (… and it looks remarkably like something my mom would have made)

  4. Oh it looks great!! Congratulations on your first quilt!

  5. A great quilt! I am thinking about making one myself, and yours is quite inspirational.

  6. great job dude. it’s really pretty! 🙂

  7. Sara it’s gorgeous! I have that book, too. 🙂

    Good luck with the bar! I know you’ll do great.

  8. I really love the way yours turned out. I found you via flickr and I”ve been logging in just to look at your quilt. Now, i am really curious as to how much you added and how you went about doing it. I want to make a quilt large enough for a full size bed, but…..

    the fear! First quilt = fear!

Leave a Reply

