fears conquered

Built by Wendy dress
I’ve had a love-hate relationship with sewing. My first machine and I were completely non-compatible. My current machine is sturdy and reliable but as a 3/4 machine is somewhat limited in what it can handle. Still at this point I’ve managed to sew a whole mess of bags, a quilt, and a lot of softies. But all along I’ve been afraid to make clothing. Not that I haven’t tried…I could fill a small suitcase with the many abandoned sewing projects of half finished shirts, skirts, and pants. During this “break” I was determined to conquer this fear and picked a simple Built by Wendy pattern I’d been eying for a while. This is the end result and I must say that I’m quite pleased. Although the dress is supposed to be loose-fitting it turned out a teensy bit bigger that I’d like. I reasoned that it would be much easier to take a dress in than to put in hours of work only to find the dress too small to wear.

Here’s a closeup of the neck which took me a while to get just right and was by far the trickiest part of the project.

neck & sleeve closeup
A few things I discovered while working on this project:
1) Start with cheap fabrics first so you won’t be heartbroken when things don’t turn out quite right. (This stuff was on sale at Joanns for a mere $2/yard.)
2) Give yourself plenty of time to get through the project.
3) Take frequent breaks. (Usually I know I’m ready for a break when I start shouting expletives repeatedly.)
4) The seam ripper is your best friend. Repeat, the seam ripper is your best friend.

While I think I might have conquered the general phobia, I’m far from feeling comfortable with these sorts of projects. Still, it’s nice to feel a bit stretched in the crafting realm and to walk away with a solid finished product. It’s been a little over a year since I took up sewing and I feel like I’ve made a lot of progress.

4 responses to “fears conquered

  1. I have been impressed with all the things you have been able to make with the HK Janome.

    The dress looks really cute. Congrats on your first garment!

  2. That dress looks super cute. It’s in my to-do pile. Can’t wait to see what you make next!

  3. It takes me forever to make clothes too. Your dress is super cute.

  4. oh, that dress is adorable–you did a great job on that! i love the neckline and the material is lovely.

    i’ve been totally uncrafty this summer. i may have to take your approach to law school to finish up my last term and use it as a means of sanity…

Leave a Reply

