this little piggy went to market

A girl can’t have too may bags, right?
little piggy messenger bag

Summer seems to be the perfect time for little messenger bags. The last one I made has gotten a ton of use. When looking for a smaller version, I already had the perfect model in mind. I really liked this one, which I saw in a Japanese craft book I recently purchased (ISBN 978-4-391-62423-6).
next project for sure

I followed the pattern as best as I could although there was a little improvising here and there. Of course I had to add a little piping.
piggy closeup

It’s the perfect size to carry a little summer reading.
tadpole interior
I know that tadpoles and pigs are an odd pairing but I got this Heather Ross fabric recently and was just dying to use it.

And because I was so happy with my first successful attempt in garment construction, a billowy top in summery seersucker.
seersucker top
I was a little nervous about this project since I wasn’t sure on the sizing but I’m happy with the fit. (ISBN 4910077580779)

I think I got close to the original.
billowy top
I like this pattern a lot and may knock out another one before summer’s end. It took less time to make than the messenger bag. I’m starting to fall into a better rhythm for my days with all this time off. Today, however, packing begins in earnest but I promise to leave a little room each day for crafting. đŸ™‚

3 responses to “this little piggy went to market

  1. Wow look at you go with all the sewing you’re getting done! Your piggy bag looks super cute, and I’m super impressed with your top. Great job!

  2. I love the bag! It looks great! I have a FQ of that Piggy Fabric that I have been saving to make something for the baby.

    Wonderful top, too.

  3. Bags that length are my personal favorite–so easy to get to stuff and less strain on your back when you can sling it across your shoulder. I’m pretty impressed/encouraged by your garment sewing progress.

Leave a Reply

