200 little bear giveaway!

Recall that I promised a surprise for y’all? Well here it is:
coaster prototype
Actually, this is the prototype. I incorporated in the little bear that I gocco’d a while back and some of the remnants from yesterday’s skirt project. I had in mind some coasters using the foundation piecing method which I learned via mailorder #7. I loved the general look but the color combination didn’t quite work for me and I found the bias binding (which I made myself) was a bit too fussy for something this small.

But as y’all know I do love me some piping. I was determined to use the mushroom fabric for the edging so after a little cutting and sewing….
coaster final version

And the back:
coaster back
The finished size is roughly 3.5″ x 3.5″.

And here it is in action:
coaster action shot

In honor of my 200th post I’m giving away a set of four of these coasters. Just leave a comment before next Wednesday. I’m off to Denver tomorrow for a wedding and will be on the road for a while on a much needed solo road trip. I may or may not have access to email but definitely won’t be blogging until I get back. I’ll draw a winner then and announce it here.

Thank you to the few and the faithful who continue to read!! I really appreciate all of your comments.

11 responses to “200 little bear giveaway!

  1. Those are great! I have no idea what you’re talking about technically – quilting is far beyond my sewing ability. I love the gocco’ed bear. And your mug is the best; where did you find it?

    You aren’t making it any easier to get sewing out of my head – I’ve been designing little fabric things at work all day! I think I’ll do it again tomorrow. 🙂

  2. Ack! So cute, especially the bears and rain drops. I haven’t attempted piping yet. Have fun in Denver.

  3. That coaster is precious! Enjoy your trip.

  4. Auntly H–that’s my favorite coffee mug. It was a gift from a friend but I have seen the coffee mug here

  5. Those are so cute! I like how you’ve used your fabric leftovers. There’s lots of awesome sewing on your blog – nice work!!

  6. The piping really elevated the coaster to a different level. Love the Gocco print!!!! That coaster would look great under my mug. 😉

  7. ack! I don’t think my pocketbook is going to be happy about my new knowledge of that website!

  8. ack! is it too late??? 😛 i was taking some much needed time off & was away from internet land!!!

  9. Adorable! I really enjoy your blog. It inspires me to sew more. Congrats on 200 posts.

  10. Your bear looks great!! I hope you have fun on your trip.. oh and congrats on 200! I love your coffee mug too, I may have to search one out for myself!

  11. Your bear looks great!!
    I like bears!
    Kind regards,

    Sonnja

Leave a Reply

