keeping my wits about me

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


autumn sweater, originally uploaded by poohba02.

Believe it or not folks, I knit. Yes…it was knitting that first brought me into the craft blog world but for the last year sewing has consumed all my time and creative energies. Poor neglected sweaters and balls of yarn. I’ve been trying to keep the moping to a minimum so I’ve been creating ways to get out of the house more. Today, I joined a knitting group at the local yarn store. I dusted off my needles and dragged out one of my neglected projects, the Essential Strip Sweater from Knit & Tonic. I’m using five different shades of Rowan Felted Tweed that I picked up at a yarn sale last summer.
I’m a huge fan of the pattern since it’s knit from the top down and requires minimal seaming. I am a real loser when it comes to finishing knits. I have about four sweaters right now that need to be steamed and blocked. I think one of them is three or four years old?

Something funny I learned at the yarn shop today–Between 75 to 80% of knitters use the exact color and yarn type specified in a pattern. In fact, the shop owner once tested this theory out by knitting a sweater in the ugliest color of the yarn called for and that’s the one that almost everyone asked for. I can’t imagine that?! I have rarely if ever used the yarn type specified in the pattern and never the same color. I used to feel really lame following knitting patterns as written (aside from the yarn type/color), too afraid to deviate from it. But I guess it’s nice to know now that at least in one respect, I’m not a blind follower. 🙂

6 responses to “keeping my wits about me

  1. Yay! You’re going to finish that sweater just in time for winter. (I usually choose a different color/yarn from what the pattern suggests too. Usually because the suggested yarn is expensive, but I’m beginning to learn that sometimes you have to pay for quality)

  2. That’s going to be a nice sweater! Hurray for knitting.

  3. felted tweed is sooo soft and awesome. you’re going to get a lot of wear out of that one!

  4. Ooh I love felted tweed. I think if I really really like something, I generally follow the same color as the pattern. Really, I look at sewing pattern books like a catalog of things that I could have. I want this and this and this…

  5. It’s lovely! And I’m with you, I never use the yarn called for which is why half my stuff comes out the wrong size LOL

  6. Its beautiful 🙂 I knit too but you’d hardly know it from my blog.

Leave a Reply

