norma lee


I’m alive…but just barely. Never wonder if your life can get worse, because that’s when it does. Suffice to say, some recent events have put life into perspective–making a speeding ticket, a disappointing breakup, and everyday arguments with my folks seem like a walk in the park. Not much more to say, other than I’m trying to think happy thoughts and put one foot in front of the other.

But anyway…isn’t that a cute dog? I’ve been really fascinated by corgis lately. I met a really cool one at the animal shelter last week but she was adopted almost immediately. But since I know there are some dog lovers out there, I was wondering if I could get some opinions? If you have your heart set on a particular breed, is it a terrible crime going to a breeder for a dog rather than getting a mutt from the shelter? Any thoughts would be appreciated….

11 responses to “norma lee

  1. i guess it depends on why your heart is set on a particular breed…? i *LOVE* retired racing greyhounds b/c they are such gentle dogs, but they’re also veeery low maintenance, ergo more compatible w/ my psycho insane schedule.

  2. I’m totally for saving shelter dogs. Mutts are usually healthier than purebreds. All the good dogs I know are mutts. That said, if you have your heart set on a corgi, go visit http://rosylittlethings.typepad.com

    ps Hang in there. I hope things stop getting worse.

  3. Corgis are cute. I really wanted a little Yorkie, but I didn’t want to pay the crazy amount that everyone was asking for. My pups are essentially mutts. Two of my friends got their dogs from a farm up in Maine and their dogs are so nice. So, we went there to get ours, twice! It was a long trip, but worth it. They breed mixed breed dogs and their prices were reasonable. Don’t forget that getting a puppy costs a lot the first year, vacinnations, neutering or spaying. The bills were costly,so you have to take that into account when buying a puppy. Mutts are great because they never fit into a stereo typical behavior or type.

    Keep your chin up!

  4. I’m getting a corgi! I’m actually on the waiting list with a breeder to get one. If you have your heart set on corgis and still want to adopt, you should see if there are corgi rescue clubs in your area.

  5. HAHA, sorry, “Chris” is me, I accidentally used by bf’s account. However, he is the one that wants a puppy because he never experienced having a puppy before. Anyway, let me know if you want some info on corgis. I’ve been doing research for a while! I think that my blog may be turning into a corgi-blog soon!

  6. How about adopting your corgi-to-be from a rescue organization? A quick Google directed me to the Seattle Purebred Dog Rescue (http://www.spdrdogs.org/), which – according to their site – handles corgis. Kind of a win-win: You get the breed you want and an abandoned critter gets a home.

  7. Hey, I hope things look up soon! As for dogs, I agree with going with a rescue organization. That’s how we got Deedle (hmm, that might explain a thing or two … ).

  8. most shelters/rescue organizations do have pure breds and specific breeds. those dogs get mistreated and abandoned just like all the mutts. so i’d still use them.

    hang in there, dude. and is the green jacket finished????

  9. We have 2 corgis from Heritage Hill http://www.heritagehillcardicorgi.com — sorry, wrong coast, but Debbie there may have some good recommendations of breeders or corgi-specific breed rescue organizations in the Pacific Northwest.
    Often if a reputable breeders’ dog does not work out with a family for whatever reason, the breeder will take it back — you can sometimes register your interest in rescuing such dogs.

    Corgis are very active and VERY smart dogs; if you want a dog that you can share lots of activity with, they are wonderful. But they’re not as naturally obedient as, say, Border Collies, which means a lot of their intelligence is devoted to getting around the rules. They (like all herding type dogs) are more than many people want to take on if they just want low-stress canine companionship. Consider getting two (to keep each other busy) unless they will have LOTS of opportunities to play with you and/or other dogs.

  10. I was really drawn to australian shephards and spent a year trying to adopt a rescued aussie. As fate would have it, there was a lady two streets away who rescued border collies and collie mixes. She had a rescued collie mutt that she wanted me to meet. Hannah ended up being the perfect dog for me, and I knew from the first minute. I have no idea what her actual heritage is, but she has all the aussie traits I was looking for. Perhapes if you are very clear about exactly what you love about corgis, you will know your perfect dog when you see him/her, purebred corgi or mix. I also highly recommend the book “Dog Smart”. It helped me figure out what I was looking for and why those traits were so important to me.

  11. Do you eer read Posie Gets Cozy’s blog? (http://rosylittlethings.typepad.com/) * want a corgi after seeing photos of Clover!

Leave a Reply

