if you make it they will come

Balancing Act Exterior
Last night I went back to the sewing desk to make improvements on my last messenger bag. This is version #2, using some Echino fabric, green duckcloth, cotton webbing, and a geometric reproduction print. I took a very different approach to making this one and am much happier with the results. I used some Timtex to make a stiff bottom and some medium weight pellon to give the bag more structure. No rivets this time. I’d like to reincorporate them into future versions of this bag but didn’t think they looked very good here.

Here are some more pictures:
Messenger Bag (Balancing Act, 1 of 6)

More details of the exterior:
Balancing Act Exterior

And the interior:
Balancing Act Interior

And guess what? This one’s for sale. Yes, that’s right, I thought with all this time on my hands and no legal employers calling, I’d try my hand at selling some bags.

Details:
Bag: “Balancing Act” Messenger Bag
Pattern: my own
Fabric: Etsuko Furuya fabric, green duckcloth, geometric print, and cotton webbing
Dimensions: 8″ high x 11.5″ long x 2.75″ wide, 42″ straps (1″ wide)
Price: $38.00 (+$4 shipping domestic or +$6 shipping international)

I will be making five more messenger bags with different fabric combinations, in case this one is not to your liking. All of them will be listed here first; I’m shooting to have a new one up every other day. If there are no takers, I’ll throw them up on etsy in a few weeks or I’ll have an even more ridiculous collection of bags at my disposal. πŸ™‚

If you’re interested, leave a comment with your email address or email me directly at poohba02(at)yahoo(dot)com.

7 responses to “if you make it they will come

  1. Sara, your messenger bags look amazing. I think selling them is a good idea (I bet you’ll have takers)

  2. hmmm…got any navy blue bags? πŸ˜‰
    btw, i think you are such a creative genius. if you asked me to make a bag i’d just blankly stare at you…then ask if we could talk about something related to my research. ;P

  3. Oooohh…that’s a pretty one. I can’t wait to see the other colors/fabrics bags you are going to make.

  4. Wow, that’s amazing that you just whipped that out. Can’t wait to see what other colors you have planned!

  5. the silent observer

    Hey…you also already have a name for your company and a logo:

    “rhymes with spoon” (with that cool tag you made for your other bag)

    Set up an LLC and begin writing off all your material purchases/more crafting tools as business expenses…

  6. love your bags – and I’m definately interested in getting one… I agree with your other fans in here… you should be making these as a business…. email me with the address to your etsy store and let us know when you post more… if you’re willing to do custom bags, I’m all up for placin’ an order! πŸ™‚

  7. hi sara:
    i like the one that’s currently pictured – i’m interested in purchasing it. could i wait until i saw the others before sending you a check? email me here: sarajchoe@hotmail.com
    thanx!

Leave a Reply

