emotional baggage

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


bags of ’07, originally uploaded by poohba02.

I’m still mulling over a 2008 resolutions post…for no other reason than my faint hope that sharing my wishes for the coming year here will somehow motivate me to just go out there and make it happen. You guys keep me accountable, ok?

And now the year in review….
In a word, 2007 sucked. Badly. Several boxes of tissues were decimated in process. There was at least one major disaster in every major area of my life. The stress of studying for and (thankfully) passing the bar, my mom’s back surgery and lengthy recovery, the demise of a relationship, far too much unnecessary drama during my 3L year, this extended period of unemployment, the nightmare of moving cross country….I could go on and on. And like Mariko so wisely noted “it was, of course, punctuated with plenty of great and happy moments” but “what kept me going, pathetically enough, was knowing that things could actually get much worse!”

Ok, maybe that’s a little melodramatic. I’m oh so fortunate to be supported by a wonderful bevy of friends scattered far and wide. The nearest and dearest were all there for me in my darkest hours sending emails, taking my hysteric phone calls, and cheering me onward. And another thing that kept me going was crafting. 2007 was a prolific crafting year for me….a lot of different finished objects although it was the bags that I found most satisfying. I’m just hoping that it’s the bags (and not the [emotional] baggage) that I take with me into 2008.

Goodbye 2007! Good riddance!

9 responses to “emotional baggage

  1. the silent observer

    It may have been a doozy of a year, that I have no doubt. But think back on those moments of creative inspiration, which you blessed upon our little world. Those are great things indeed; let’s call it a glimpse into the wonders that might be unleashed in 2008!

  2. Happy New Year! Your bags look great, and I look forward to seeing more in 2008!

  3. Happy New Year! I am a strong believer in what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I got some bad news in Nov that made me very depressed and unhappy, but I knew I had to overcome that and stay mentally sane for the baby I am carrying.

    I love all the bags you made. I hope to see all the fabulous stuff you will make this coming year.

  4. Good call! 2007 sucked, I’m all about 2008. I propose we strike 2007 from mathematics and shift all the higher numbers down one.

  5. Ooh! Ooh! Even though 2007 wasn’t particularly sucky for me, I like Kyle’s idea of a do-over. And as a proud owner of a Rhymes With Spoon bag, I can assure everyone that the bag is as cute as it looks in the picture. Also? The puppies in the previous post were KILLING me with their cuteness.

  6. Sorry, Mr. Optimism can’t let this one stand. πŸ™‚

    When I think of 2007, I see that you continued to improve your work on the task at hand, ultimately accomplishing things even you had almost given up on; you stayed strong in times of great adversity, and came through it all not necessarily as you hoped, but still with your dignity and integrity intact. More importantly, when the opportunity arose, you made time to be creative, to spend time with old and new friends, and to take care of those you love (or to occasionally let them take care of you). And I think we can both agree “the demise” is an overly dramatic word choice, (though “the nightmare of moving” is dead-on!)

    All in all, the year sucked, no doubt… but I know you can appreciate how high the occasional peaks were, and how great the view was from them. 2008 will only be better. It has to be! πŸ™‚

  7. hear hear!

  8. My friend Tracey and I always said that odd numbered years were indeed odd. While 2007 didn’t suck for me perse, I am certainly looking forward to an even year.

    hugs, my friend!

  9. Good riddance indeed! Say hello to the new and fabulous 08 where you will be the star πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

