extravagance

brother serger

***Non-sewers disclaimer: Beware, as this is a post in which I seriously dork out about sewing.***
I got a serger! (Actually, my parents graciously got me a Brother 1034D after watching me plod away on tiny little Janome 3/4 machine on the condition that I hem and tailor all their clothing.) With work being what it is I haven’t had a chance to experiment much with it (or blog about it for that matter!) although Jeff did get a pair of robot flannel PJs with some lovely finished seams the other day. So far, I love it and think it’s worth every penny ….it’s a little intimidating at first and with all the horror stories I’ve heard about serger threads breaking and being impossible to thread, I was prepared for the worst. But after 20 minutes watching the instructional DVD and a little manual reading, I was already on my way to doing a mean overlock stitch. I promise some better pictures of the machine soon and a fuller review when I sit down and learn some more stitches.

My current gig is up at the end of the week….I’m sad to be facing unemployment (again) but glad that I’ll finally have time to craft a little. My brain is just buzzing with ideas as of late but with no time to bring them to life. (Many thanks to Karen who was nice enough to some bits of French inspiration!)

5 responses to “extravagance

  1. WOW! How exciting! I just remembered that I never sent the bobbins… my brain has gone to mush with the moving! I’ll send them soon, I promise! I’m glad to see you’ll have some crafty time soon!

  2. I hope you enjoy the downtime knowing that you will find employment again soon.

  3. I didn’t know your job was a temporary one. Oh well, more crafty time while you look for another.

    That is one cool machine that your parents got you. Please share your experience with it when you have more time to play with it. I don’t what I would use a serger for, but you can be sure I want one.

  4. hopefully your temp job will lead to bigger & better things! until then though, enjoy some well-deserved down time! 🙂

  5. I’ve heard some awesome things about sergers. Congratulations 🙂

Leave a Reply

