call the doughboy

I’m an unapologetic lover of carbs so when I heard about this book I was most intrigued. Five minutes? Yeah! Sign me up!

Ok, so the title is a bit misleading. It’s more like 5 to 10 minutes to set up the master dough, another 2 hours for an initial rise before it heads into the fridge overnight so the wet dough becomes manageable. And with all but a few of the recipes the bread requires another rise after it comes out of the fridge. Still, there’s something to be said about keeping bread dough around in the fridge because if you have a really bad day you can come home and make this:

pecan sticky buns
(pecan sticky buns)

Can you believe it came from the same dough as this?

boule
(standard French boule)

I have no patience when it comes to bread baking so I’ll withhold judgment until a) I get the proper equipment (baking stone + pizza peel) and b) I have a little more free time and flour on my hands. But I gotta say, not having much in the way of time or patience neither turned out so bad.
3 responses to “call the doughboy

  1. After a long day of taking care of Miss Melody, I want to sink my teeth into that sticky bun. It looks great.

  2. omg! that french boule looks amaaazing! très bien! 😉

  3. I’m on a diet!!!
    😦
    😦
    :~(

Leave a Reply

