atkins friendly (now carb free!)

I’ve been a busy little bee.

Picture 1630

Lots of sewing this weekend although I don’t have any pictures to show…it’s hard to get pictures of my latest projects since I don’t have a photographer and I need to model. In the meantime, I’ll distract you with some flowers.

Those of you who’ve kept up with my blog may know that I have a thing or two for peonies. I think they’re the most incredible flowers. Although I come from a long line of farmers, neither of my parents have a green thumb. They live in an amazingly lush green belt area but they’ve really let their yard run amok. I want so badly to spruce things up but thus far, I’ve been limiting myself to research. I still have oodles to learn but this is prime planting season people. I really want to get cracking, otherwise I’ll have to wait until next summer! Knowing that peony blooms can be short lived, I decided to trek up to the A&D Nursery in Snohomish to check out some peony options. The variety of colors and blooms was a bit overwhelming.

Picture 1621

There are so many varieties I had a terrible time deciding. Exercising a little restraint, I only walked away with two plants to start, an avalanche and a red charm. I could’ve easily walked away with a dozen but I figured I should make sure I can keep one or two alive first. So there you have it. My landscaping revolution, one small potted flower at a time.

4 responses to “atkins friendly (now carb free!)

  1. How funny, I did some planting over the weekend too. I love Peonies too, but I’m a little apprehensive since they’re more tricky to grow. I guess you can’t know until you try though… I did plant a lavender and I’m super excited for it.

    Also, I have my first bread in the fridge right now!

  2. I’m no green thumb either so I’ll live vicariously through you.

  3. A low-carb entry! Thanks!

    I managed to kill the last pot of cactus I got (I frankly can’t recall when was the last time I watered it…). It’s a miracle Bryson’s alive and well. 😛

  4. I thought I was going to see more fantastic bread! Good luck on the flowers. I was blessed with a black thumb. My friend and I just had this dicussion over the weekend. She was quite surprised that I kill plants. She thought I was handy with everything.

Leave a Reply

