in progress

quilt in progress

Don’t let these bright colors fool you. It may be June but it is COLD and RAINY here in Seattle. It feels like January here! I get home and I want to roll right into bed and sleep forever. Which is why this snappy little quilt has been sitting around unfinished. It’s for a good family friend who recently had a baby but I’m hoping she’s so busy with her new little one that she forgotten all about the quilt! I still have to quilt the top border of the quilt and finish hand sewing the binding but I think I can finish it this weekend. (At least I hope so!)

honeycomb stitch close up

Seriously though, I have winter on my mind. I’ve taken up knitting, although as with everything else in my life right now, it’s at a snail’s pace. (But I am almost finished with the back!) A while ago I started knitting up a Honeycomb from the latest Knitty. I have some minor misgivings about the pattern but otherwise I absolutely love the texture of the honeycomb stitch and Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool holds up to the stitch so nicely. (The yarn is also marvelously priced. Taking advantage of a nice sale at One Fine Yarn, a project’s worth of yarn barely set me back $25.)

This last picture is for Oiyi:

grilled cheese

Nothing’s better than comfort food in wintery weather and few things comfort me more than a gooey grilled cheese sandwich. I love the rustic nature of boules, baguettes, and batards but I find them better suited to eating plain and simple. This weekend I finally got a non-stick loaf pan over the weekend so that I could have more sandwich friendly bread. I think I’m really getting the hang of this bread baking thing….I didn’t quite get the rise I wanted (I’m guessing I should’ve used more dough) but this loaf had really nice texture. A crunchy exterior and chewy interior. A dream to slice.

Bear with me in the coming weeks if I’m not around much or if I’m not finishing a lot of projects. I’m juggling a lot of things right now and so much is in flux. I’m feeling very discouraged and very burnt out but I’ll try not to talk about that much here. (This is after all the place where I blog about all the things that make me happy!)

6 responses to “in progress

  1. mere mortals could only hope to have even just a fraction of the talent that you have, sara! i am neither good at knitting nor baking bread, so i live vicariously through you and your blog. πŸ˜‰ rock on, sara!

  2. Oh it’s so good to see you in blogland again! I can’t wait to see the quilt. Looks great from what you’ve shown. Oh and an update on my bread… I’ve been letting it rise for 1 hour 20 minutes instead of 40 and it seems to help. I got a different kind of yeast for my next batch, so we’ll see!

  3. I know how you feel about saving your blog for happy thoughts πŸ™‚ I’m the same way, it’s sort of a little sanctuary reserved for beautiful quilts and delicious breads! πŸ˜€ But best wishes on whatever you’re tackling, and when in doubt, make yourself one of those grilled cheese… I’m sure that’ll make everything else easier to swallow πŸ™‚

  4. oh, the quilt looks lovely! It is cold and rainy here in Norway too! We had a heat wave for several weeks though and the rain is so welcome now. The grilled cheese looks delicious. You can sew AND cook!!!
    Hope you are keeping warm and dry!

  5. Damn! That grilled cheese looks divine! Thank you for the photo. All this virtual eating is keeping my cravings at bay.

  6. Lovely! You just inspired me. I’ve been searching for a backing for my very first ever quilt and your lovely seer sucker made the light bulb light up! I just thrifted a big piece of pretty blue seer sucker tat will be perfect! Now I need some super cute binding like yours. I have yet to try that.

    I also have a bunch of that silky wool, too. I bought it in hanks and tried to wind it myself and now have some very nice yarn spaghetti. 😦

Leave a Reply

