match up

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


summer shorts, originally uploaded by poohba02.

Ok so I totally never got to that quilt this weekend but in my defense:
1) We actually got some nice weather and I needed to enjoy that!
2) I crossed off a few more things on my “You can’t procrastinate on this any longer” list.
3) I’m looking for a new job which has turned out to be a full-time job in and of itself.
4) I’m much more interested in apparel sewing these days and am bursting with ideas. There just aren’t enough hours in the day to execute all of them.
5) I made these shorts for my little sister who has been requesting some for quite some time now. (Requests for hand-made goods always seems way more compelling coming from someone you live with vs. someone you only see ever few weeks/months.) I made the shorts using Butterick 5044 (view A). This is a relatively quick and easy sew although I almost blew a gasket trying to get the plaid to match up right and I have serious issues with marked pocket placements. In the future, I’ll skip the plaids and reconsider the pocket placements. Little sister is quite happy with them and has already requested another pair.

2 responses to “match up

  1. I think it’s great that you are sewing so much apparel. What happened to that cool green jacket you were working on? I am still afraid of sewing clothes. But I am going to start slowly with baby clothes first.

  2. Loving the plaids+polka dots. I want to sew some apparel too but I haven’t had much luck lately.

Leave a Reply

