long weekend

Ok, so first off I didn’t go to my high school reunion. This is not to say I don’t care what you guys think or that I didn’t think about going but at the end of the day: a) I didn’t really like HS, b) I’ve been in major sewing/cooking/crafting withdrawal, c) I’ve been enjoying the Olympics, and d) do you know how much $$$ they charge for HS reunions? Relating to d) I decided to use that hard earned money instead to buy some neat fabrics (pictures to follow) from Sew Mama Sew! Check them out…their sale section rocks. Crafting friends, I’m sure you approve. And it gets even better…I present to you a FINISHED OBJECT. This is a baby quilt for a family friend that has been a long time in the making. The quilt top was a snap but I dragged my feet on the quilting and binding. (That’s my sister peering at the top, holding the quilt up. I still haven’t found a good way to snap photos of quilts. If you have suggestions on this one, let me know.)

quilt #2

The back isn’t anything special but I’ll show you anyway. Don’t you just love the way a freshly washed quilt puckers?

quilt back

I’d love to make this quilt again some time although next time it’ll either be for me or someone who can actually appreciate the ridiculous amount of work that goes into a quilt. I think I’m going to apply to my knitting only for knitters rule to sewing. I probably could’ve done with some simpler quilting in the borders but Lynn told me about these nifty quilt stencils a while ago and I had to try one out. Maybe one these days I’ll overcome my fear of free motion quilting but for now this is as advanced as it gets.

quilt border closeup

After all that work I needed to unwind with a good meal so I camped out at Jeff’s watching the Olympics to roast a pork shoulder. The recipe is a breeze and requires far more patience/time than work.

Yum! Now I think I had a much better time than I would’ve had going to some lame-o reunion but I’ll entertain any objections in the comments section.

9 responses to “long weekend

  1. I know I definitely enjoyed it more. 🙂

    You forgot to mention the homemade guac and salsa to go with the pork shoulder…

    i’ve been in a meat coma for the last two days.

  2. What a super cute quilt, I love the back too. Time well spent this weekend!

  3. Super cute!

  4. Your quilt is so darn puckery and lovely! The back is delightful!
    ~Emily

  5. Do reunions cost a lot? Can’t they have some bake sales first to keep prices down? Hehe. Who needs reunions with facebook nowadays anyway?

    The quilt looks so comfy! You know, you think that a baby won’t appreciate all the work that goes into it, but just wait. I still have my baby blanket my grandmother made me. I’ve always loved it. A kid may not realize all the work that goes into it, but they can definitely appreciate the sentimental value it has to them. It’s a very sweet thing to give. 🙂

  6. that is such a cute quilt. The stencils were worth the work!

  7. I think you made the right decision. This crafty friend definitely approves!

  8. I think that’s a good way not to go to a reunion. I can’t wait to see the fabrics that you bought!

    The quilt is so cute. And the pork and guac and salsa make me SO hungry, and it’s 7 in the morning…

  9. I love the quilt and the quilting, too.

Leave a Reply

