wait, don’t answer that

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Vogue 8495, originally uploaded by poohba02.

Thanks for all the kind words on the quilt. This was a very productive (and a little exhausting) weekend. In addition to the quilt I also finished this top using Vogue 8495. This is a “Very Easy Vogue” pattern but let me tell you, it took me a good 4-5 hours of work from start to finish. Am I retarded?

I’m not sure how I feel about it. I know it’s supposed to be loose and flowy but it kinda feels like I’m wearing a flour sack. Does this make me look fat? My shoulders are fairly broad too so the “sleeves” don’t quite fall where they should. But at least it’s a comfortable flour sack. I think I might feel differently about this top using a thinner fabric. This is just $4 worth of stuff from a clearance bin at Joanns. And all this brings me to a much larger point about sewing….I think I suck at sewing apparel. It’s hard and it’s frustrating and I’m rarely happy with the results. But this is the reason I decided to start sewing…because the idea of making my own clothing really appealed to me. Maybe I’ll take another stab at it next weekend.

5 responses to “wait, don’t answer that

  1. I do NOT think you look fat. But I do think the shirt has a bit of a maternity feel to it. Which could be why you think it makes you look fat.

    maternity style tops on skinny skinny girls are all the rage. you’ll fit right in!

  2. you, fat? c’mon! no way! i think it looks comfy and flowy…i also think you’re being a bit hard on yourself…it took you 4-5 hours, it probably would have taken me 4-5 weeks! 😛

    you really are sooo talented, sara. don’t give up! 🙂

  3. I think the shirt is super cute! And I love tops like that. I can eat as much as I want and the shirt still hides it! :p

  4. Oh dear! Morale is low over there, eh? Retarded? Fat? You suck at apparel sewing? Hrmph. I beg to differ with you — Vogue patterns are tricky even if they call them EASY, you wear that flour sack well : ) and I hope you do try again next weekend for more apparel. Maybe you better spring for some nice flowy fabric for your next attempt. The Jo-Ann’s sale bin is good for some things but maybe not for sweet clothes… Don’t give up!

  5. OK, enough with the over-achiever talk! (I’m quite accomplished at that too) You’re talented enough to turn fabric (discounted at Joanne’s no less) into a wearable garment in a few hours!! I could probably barely thread my machine in that amount of time. But yes, I do know that feeling. Sometimes you just have to laugh at these “failures”, chuck them aside and start anew another day. Don’t give up!!

Leave a Reply

