(gulp!)

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


norma in the fetal position, originally uploaded by poohba02.

Sorry for the old picture but I feel weird about blog posting without pictures. I don’t want to be one of those *crazy* people always super-imposing human feelings on animals and I know I only had Norma around for a week (last year) but man, if ever there was an animal that understood me, it was Norma. And this picture? Well that’s how I feel right now…like I want to curl up into a big ball with my favorite quilt and hide out from the big scary world of adulthood.

Anyway, why no recent pictures you say and why all this psycho babble about a dog I don’t actually own?? Well, it’s just been *that* kind of week. The kind of week when some (good) surprises come by and turn your life all topsy-turvey. I know this is 99% a craft/creative blog but humor me a little on this aside on life generally.

So the big news…I got a job offer…IN CHICAGO. I’m ecstatic! And I’m also scared out of my skull! I’ve been looking for months, working a job I hate, and amassing an impressive stack of rejection letters. Chicago would allow me to leave all that behind. It would be a serious jolt to my career. It would mean real responsibilities, challenges, health benefits, and longer hours. It would also mean leaving behind my family (again), Jeff (subject of its much longer, later post), and all things familiar.

I don’t know what to do? Opportunities like this one don’t come often and I’m leaning towards taking it. But it’s full scale upheaval. It’s another bar exam in 5 months. It’s another move to the Midwest. It’s a head first dive into the unknown. Have I mentioned it’s terrifying? =) Am I ready? Can I do this?

5 responses to “(gulp!)

  1. Wow, it’s an exciting opportunity! It’s hard to leave things that are familar. The bar exam aagain?

  2. Sara, you can do it. You are totally ready for adult life. But some time cuddled under a quilt couldn’t hurt either.

  3. the world is yours for the taking! you can do anything you put your mind to! i think it’s an incredible opportunity…plus, from what i can gather, you love chicago. go for it!

  4. I have no doubt you can do it, if you want it.
    best of luck!

  5. You can do it! And besides, you can always come back to the Pacific NW if you hate it! If the job sounds like a good one, and you think you’d like it, you should give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

