doh-chak

Hello friends.

I’m happy to report that I made it to Chicago more or less in tact and sane. My parents and I had a minor scare in North Dakota when a semi truck had a tire blow out right in front of us. Fortunately, the truck swerved right and not left so rather than getting creamed by large 18 wheeler, I just have a small dent + large black streak on the front of my poor Subaru. (Alas, there was no way to avoid the large amount of debris from the blowout without driving into a very steep ditch at 70 mph. At the time, the split second calculations in my very worn out brain were to take the hit rather than risk destroying the entire under-carriage of my very heavily laden car.)

Other than that minor bit of drama, the ride out here was quite uneventful and my parents and I did not (despite all predictions by my brothers and sister) kill each other. A good family friend of ours (who is quite handy) drove in from Ohio yesterday to help with furniture construction and heavy lifting. His help sped up the moving/unloading process quite a bit and he refused to even let me buy him dinner as a thank you. My father and I would’ve managed to schlep everything up to my second floor apartment but not without a lot of grumbling, huffing, and puffing. Our friend, with his boundless energy and enthusiasm, made the whole move-in almost fun and by the time he left I also had a fully constructed IKEA dresser and bed frame. In fact, this act is one of many kind gestures (big and small) I encountered in this moving process and this move has strangely reassured me about all that is good and right about my family and humanity. So from the bottom of my heart, to all those of you out there reading this, to those who left a comment, sent an email, called, sent well wishes for this move, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I’ll report back soon with some more updates and pictures.

warmly,

Sara

5 responses to “doh-chak

  1. girlfriend, you’ve been hanging in there for what seems like YEEEARS now. and it’s about time the sun finally broke thru all the dark clouds!!! thrillllllled for you! and may the good times keep rollin’! cheers, doll! :-*

  2. Omigod. That semi-truck story was sca-ry! I’m glad you’re safe. Settle in and enjoy Chicago.

  3. You made it! Things are looking up 🙂

  4. So glad to hear that you arrived safely! That was a scary story.

  5. Yikes! Glad to hear you made it there safely!

Leave a Reply

