longing for a place called home

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


morning commute, originally uploaded by poohba02.

See? A picture (hastily snapped on the cameraphone during my morning commute)! Evidence that I am in Chicago. Sorry for the spotty blogging and the utter absence of pictures but I think my move is finally catching up with me. The adrenaline has worn off and the exhaustion has set in. I have to admit that I’m quite homesick these days…particularly as the fall chill has descended quickly on Chicago and I’m already scrambling for my flannel PJs. Did I make the right decision? I don’t know.

A quarter of my apartment (mostly the crafty part) is still languishing in boxes and I have not the heart to tackle it. Also, Comcast is the antichrist….getting cable TV and internet set up in my apartment has been an absolute nightmare. I have been on the phone with Comcast and several of its million third-party vendors for HOURS trying to figure out how I can get cable AND internet at a remotely reasonable price. As of this posting, I remain unsucessful and am staving off a nervous breakdown. Work, thankfully, has slowed down and I’ve had a moment or two to catch my breath. I know I keep promising better posts, pictures of the new apartment, etc. but the rest of my life just doesn’t seem to be cooperating.

5 responses to “longing for a place called home

  1. Boo on Comcast! All cable companies pretty much blow. 😦 Hang in there! You’re bound to have doubts in the beginning. Give it time, give it a chance. πŸ™‚

  2. i second that motion, which is probably why i don’t have cable. πŸ˜‰ perhaps the doubts you feel is just lack of sleep/exhaustion talking? give it time, doll. πŸ™‚

  3. the silent observer

    one step at a time kiddo. It is always hard for that first little while…but one day, you’ll come home, and just relish in the pure joy of knowing you are in your own place, living your own life.

  4. I’m switching from Qwest to Comcast because I consider Qwest to be the antiChrist. You’ve just confirmed they’re all antiChrists.

    It’s normal to be homesick…and to not feel unsure about everything. It sounds cliched but really: Just hang in there!

  5. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Can you see the river from where you live/ work? I lived near Chicago for a year in college, and I definitely know what you mean by that weather… brrrr…..

    Hope to see more camera phone photos as you settle into your new place πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

