one step at a time

jumbo shower head

Eureka! After much headache and heartache, I’m back on the grid. Thirteen phone calls, a 90+ minute installation process, and a 60 minute phone call with the brother to set up my wireless router, yields results at last. I have cable internet and tv. Phew. One of the things that has surprised me about this last move is how much more stressed out I’ve been by setting up the small mundane things of my Chicago life (cable, cell phone, bank account) than the big things (extremely challenging job, saying good-bye to friends and family in Seattle).

I’ve been extremely busy at work (both good and bad), working late, so the apartment continues to be a major work in progress, i.e. still many boxes to unpack. This weekend though I did manage to address one issue that’s been bugging me about the new digs–abysmal water pressure. I’m told that this is a pervasive problem in Chicago so I went to Home Depot and picked up a new shower head. The difference is nothing short of miraculous. I’ve been playing around with my digital camera, learning some of the manual settings and features on it. Aside from the fact that my shower head is about the only presentable part of my apartment, I really like the way this picture caught the light, reflections, and shadows in my bathroom.

I’ve been eating out a lot and find that that gets old pretty quickly. Despite the fact that there are plenty of other more pressing matters I’m avoiding, I decided to test out my kitchen’s mini oven: roasted chicken and veggies with lots of fresh herbs.

sunday supper

My work schedule will be pretty unpredictable in the coming weeks but I’m hoping to revive some stalled knitting projects.

2 responses to “one step at a time

  1. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Looks like you’re making strides in the small things you accomplished! Fixing up bathroom fixtures, cooking up a storm in the kitchen, these are the things that make a house (or an apt) feel like a home, right? đŸ˜‰ Happy to hear you’re settling in!

  2. What kind of camera did you get? And glad you’re settling in.

Leave a Reply

