a sense of normalcy

(img from crackberry.com)

“Normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work and driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for – in order to get to the job you need to pay for the clothes and the car, and the house you leave vacant all day so you can afford to live in it.”
– Ellen Goodman

Apparently, normal is also coming home from w-0-r-k at 11:00 pm. Rinse, lather, repeat. Thank goodness Friday is just around the corner. Seriously, people out there. HOW do you do it? When w0rk is this busy I can barely keep myself together. How does one have a spouse, kids, a dog? Is there a magical extra 12 hours in the day you’re not telling me about?

4 responses to “a sense of normalcy

  1. Why is it that work always gets busy around the holidays? Why isn’t it the other way around? It just never seems to work that way. *sigh*

    I tell you, I don’t know how people do it, but that “you” you’re referring to sure ain’t me! I only work a 9 hour day, yet between walking my puppy, picking him up from doggy daycare, feeding him, walking him again at night, and playing with him in between, I have pretty much no time for myself. I can’t even imagine having time for kids. I’m in awe of my mother for working full time and having two kids. It does seem like other people manage to find time where you don’t, doesn’t it?

    I know everyone’s job is different, but I basically go home when it’s time to pick up Theo. It doesn’t matter what work is left to do, I simply have priorities outside of work that take precedence over whatever is going on at work. Of course, being in the field of law, I understand that is less feasible. But hey, that’s the price for the big bucks I guess.

  2. i’m not a lawyer, but i totally hear you on the work thing. i used to be at work by 7 a.m., and even though i’d go home to eat dinner, i was up until about midnight working/studying. after 2 years, it got old fast. i have NO idea how people with kids don’t go completely insane!

  3. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Don’t turn into a “Miranda” (as in SITC)! 😛

    Seriously though, you’re starting a new job and probably feel that you should put in the extra time and effort, once you’re more experienced, you probably don’t want to/ need to keep going at that pace. Make sure you don’t burn out! (And don’t turn into a Miranda ;P)

  4. Don’t forget to breathe and make some time to craft. I hope it slows down for you after the holidays. It’s always busy now. A lot of my friends are doing major overtime.

Leave a Reply

