Day 1: hot up in here

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


hot dish, originally uploaded by poohba02.

I never thought I’d say this but from time to time I really miss Minnesota. It’s just so painfully Midwestern in all the best possible ways. One of those particularly Minnesotan items I’d yet to try was hot dish. Until last night. It sounds crazy but I’ve been meaning to make this dish for months. (For those of you unfamiliar with this marvel, more info here.) I know that in most parts of the country this is unremarkably known as a casserole but Minnesotans have really taken things to the next level using a wide range of choice toppings, ranging from tater tots to potato chips to crispy chow mein noodles. (Think poor man’s shepherd’s pie.) Last night’s weapon of choice was classic tater tots and everyone wholeheartedly approved of this one dish comfort meal. (There’s a wealth of recipes here. The possibilities are endless.)

2 responses to “Day 1: hot up in here

  1. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Yay, first NaBloPoMo post and a yummy one, too! Having grown up in HK, I never heard of a hot dish until I watched that TV documentary about the family with 16 (or 17?) kids. I think that’s one of their fav’s coz it’s supposedly easy to make (probably not for me :P) Glad yours’ a smashing success! Wish I can have a bite :)~

  2. This is the first time I’ve heard of hot dish. It sounds so good. As a HUGE fan of Shepherd’s pie, I may have to try it. I’m so glad you’re doing NaBloPoMo too, I’ve missed you in the blogosphere!

Leave a Reply

