Day 3: hack job

bekvam stool (before)How about we take a break from food? I did promise some crafting right? This is a bit of a departure from the usual sewing and knitting. I have a deep and abiding love of IKEA, in part because I know I’d only have three pieces of furniture in my apartment without it. Generally good design at extremely reasonable prices. What’s not to love? Still, sometimes it screams for a personal touch and I knew when I saw this empty canvas of a step stool, there was great potential. I just didn’t know how great the potential was until I saw this post on Design Sponge. Here’s my take.
ikea makeoverThis project was pretty easy but required a LOT of patience. The steps are covered with lovely Snow & Graham paper (a nod to my new home here in the Windy City) using many, many coats of Modge Podge. Initially I had a lot of problems with the paper bubbling but after about 5-6 coats it started to calm down. I think in the end I used 10-12 coats and I think it may still end up needing a layer of lacquer or varnish on it to further protect it against all the foot traffic I’m sure it will see. You want a close up?

ikea makeover close up

Since the wood was unfinished, I put on a layer or two of primer before throwing on a layer of paint. I’m glad I did because I think the finish looks better. It required a lot of little steps but I’m so pleased with the way it turned out. Much better, don’t you think?
bekvam before and after
More ideas on how to jazz up your IKEA goods here.

5 responses to “Day 3: hack job

  1. Omigod, it looks amazing! What a great idea. It sounds like a lot of work. Great job!

  2. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Wow, that looks awesome!! I love Snow and Graham too, do they have a flagship store there? I’d looove to see it if there’s one 🙂 Can’t wait to see more of your DIY IKEA projects!

  3. Wow. Seriously, that look AMAZING! Where can I get my flanthrower original? hehe. You make it sound so easy! I mean, lots of steps and patience, like you said, but doable.

  4. Very pretty…

  5. LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

