Day 11: playing house

new vase
I’m so smitten with this J. Mendocino vase I got a few weeks ago. I feel like he needs a name. I just don’t know what that is yet. I don’t normally buy myself flowers but I thought it was an ok thing to do for my own birthday. A few months ago I first saw this little number on Three Potato Four, a great little shop, btw, if you haven’t checked it out before. I balked at buying one, in part because of the price, in part because I rarely have flowers, and in part because having just moved, I’m really wary of acquiring things that are a) not absolutely necessary and b) breakable.

new vase
Still, when I saw one of these on the Modern Economy Sample Sale at 40% off I couldn’t say no. The vase was marked down as “second quality” because of “minor blemishes.” I don’t mind though…they’re sorta charming, character building. Just don’t mention it to him, ok? He’s kind of sensitive about it. =)

6 responses to “Day 11: playing house

  1. Wow, I love that vase!! It’s been on my list for a while too. Lucky you!

  2. Ooh, so cute! I think he/she has a brother/sister, right? I saw them before at the SFMOMA store, I was very tempted but I already have enough tschochkis (sp?) at home 😦 But little birdie looks lovely on your very clean and organized shelf 🙂

  3. Love the vase. You deserve so don’t worry about it.

  4. Very cute. I think I have the monkey trunk to the left in my room back home in Hawaii….

  5. I keep my laundry quarters in that little trunk.

  6. What a delightful vase! So sweet he is! Happy belated birthday! Wow, 29 sounds so young when you are 40! Hope this year will bring you wonderful things and much happiness!
    ~Emily in Norway

Leave a Reply

