Day 21: personal bailout


These are dangerous times we live in. Wall Street firms and law firms are collapsing left and right. I hear almost daily of some mass lay-off of lawyers at some mega-law-firm in NY or Chicago. It’s troubling for sure, yet, I can’t stop buying stuff. In my defense, I did just move here and you never realize how many little things (that quickly add up to much larger things) you need to acquire or re-acquire with each move.

Plus, I’m a sucker for sales. Total sucker. Here’s a list of sales/deals that have tempted me to no end. I’ve succumbed to some and fought off others but I’d be remiss if I didn’t share the love, right?

  • Cole Haan: Take an additional 30% off of all sale items, good until November 30, 2008. Code: NOVSALE30. I’m totally coveting this handbag right now.
  • Chronicle Books Friends & Family Sale: All titles are 35% off with free shipping until December 5, 2008. Code: FRIENDS. For you crafters, this is a pretty sweet deal since Chronicle publishes some of the best craft books out there.
  • Amazon’s Big DVD Sale: Hundreds of DVDs at $5.99.
  • Origins: Today’s the last day to get 25% off and free shipping. Code: ffnov.
  • Patagonia: My go-to source for cold weather gear. It’s pricey but I have tested out many of their products over the years and they have stood the test of time. Plus they have awesome web specials and free shipping on orders over $100 until December 14th.

Now go out and shop. Stimulate the economy. And make me feel slightly less guilty for indulging in some retail therapy. =) TGIF!

4 responses to “Day 21: personal bailout

  1. I feel guilty lately, too. And I am also a sucker for sales. Both me and my husband loves sales. He always searches for the red tag items at Target to show me.

    My husband works in a building with a law firm in it. He said that they occupy several floors of the building. They are huge and have several locations. This one in New York just dissolved. He said it was scary to see that an entire law firm just cease to exist over night.

  2. Hehe. Thanks for the sales info!!!

    You should feel the opposite from guilty. You should feel great that you’re doing your civic duty and doing your part to stem the problems with the economy. Hehe. Isn’t everyone saying the problem with this holiday season is that there’s no one out there spending their money? I think I’ll be doing my part next month as well. 😉

  3. OMG, you’re gonna get me in trouble when we’re trying to save for New Zealand (and Bryson’s new bed)! 😛

  4. Ooh, the Chronicle Books deal is tempting. But I’m on a strict book diet (that should probably extend to magazines).

    I get nervous every time I hear news about the economy. I think law firms aren’t the only ones collapsing. Things are looking pretty bleak in my industry too.

Leave a Reply

