Day 26: floating world

A little meme I picked up from Floating World Views.

Outside my window… window? What window? One of the few gripes I have about my office is that it is windowless. We’re supposed to be moving offices in a few months though and I’ve been promised an office with a window. On the flip side my office is HUGE, almost cavernous. I guess it’s all tradeoffs, right?

I am thinking… that I’d rather be home sewing. That I could really use some more work right now. That I’m looking forward to having a really lazy Friday all to myself. That I’m really, really broke and not sure how I’m going to afford any gifts this holiday. That I’m not doing another major move/life change in the next two years because I’m not sure I could handle that kind of stress again.

I am thankful for… my family and friends. They’ve been my bedrock during this dicey and rocky period of transition to this new chapter in my life.

From the kitchen… there is the lingering scent of copy machine toner. I brought some pumpkin chocolate chip loaf for the office and so far it appears to have been a hit. It’s almost gone.

I am wearing…cornflower blue dress shirt, wide-leg wool dress slacks, and black flats. (Standard work outfit.)

I am creating…. For me: a pink and green quilt and an orange/green/brown quilt. I’ve discovered that in Chicago, one cannot have too many quilts. For friends: an hourglass quilt (long overdue wedding present for some friends). For family: a sweater for my dad; wrist warmers for my sister.

I am going… to clean up my office, input my time, contemplate my lunch options, and then try to figure out what to do for the rest of my working hours.

I am reading….The New Yorker, The Gentle Art of Domesticity, various cookbooks.

I am hoping… that I get out of my current malaise. (I’ve been trying not to be too down and b-l-a-h on the blog but I’m definitely feeling like I’m in a bit of a rut.) That I grow to like Chicago. That I find more friends to eat out with in Chicago (would be a shame not to since there are so many great restaurants in town). That I don’t miss my friends and family too much this Thanksgiving.

I am hearing… the hum of fluorescent lighting, drilling and hammering from the construction downstairs. (It never seems to end.)

Around the house… the air is getting quite dry from the radiator heaters. There are too many stray threads and fabric remnants from quilting and sewing experiments gone bad.

One of my favourite things… bright colors (they really cut against the blah of winter that’s really started to set in here), sunshine, hot tea, carbs, and fuzzy slippers.

A few plans for the rest of the week… Enjoy having four straight days off. Do some mental housekeeping. Pay bills (GAH). Finish some projects before starting any new ones. Indulge in this last bit of freedom before bar prep starts. (Grrr….)

Here is a picture thought I am sharing… Well, really this is a bunch of pictures…all things that have brought a big smile to my face. I hope they make you smile too.current favorites

4 responses to “Day 26: floating world

  1. I love that bed.

  2. Sounds like we’ve got a lot of things to do in common- cleaning, finishing unfinished projects, pay bills… Ugh. Hope you get to accomplish these and have some fun this holiday weekend!

  3. What a lovely set of photos! Hope you get lots of relaxing during these most very excellent 4 days!

  4. Thanks for playing along. I love those photos.

Leave a Reply

