Day 29: saturday supper

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px #FFFFFF; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Saturday supper, originally uploaded by poohba02.

I think I have new found admiration for food photographers. I swear no matter how many food pictures I take, none of them look the least bit appetizing. This is a delayed Thanksgiving meal of sorts and it was delicious, icky photo notwithstanding.

I spent Thanksgiving day in Milwaukee with Carolyn but I couldn’t help but make a version of my own. Here we have fried chicken, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and green bean casserole. The scary part is not the # of dishes I dirtied to make this meal….no, the scary part is that I had most of the ingredients at home.

4 responses to “Day 29: saturday supper

  1. jeff’s photo tips:

    first matter of importance is light… sunlight looks blue when photographed inside, and no one wants blue tinted food. if sunlight is all ya got, adjust the camera’s manual white balance to sunlight.

    camera flashes in default mode also make a blue tint. warm incandescent light does well with no flash… or if you need flash, set it on slow-sync to allow as much natural light in before the flash fires.

    that Fuji’s lens goes quite wide, and will give you narrower depth of field at the wide end, especially with the iris at f2.8, allowing you to selectively focus on the best part and make the rest fuzzy. for really cool textures up close, switch it over to macro.

    also remember, you’re always your worst critic. 🙂

  2. Ivy@PaperElixir

    “Bad” photo and all (and it really isn’t that bad), you’re still making my stomach growl… And you have everything to just whip this up?! You’re turning into a domestic goddess! 😀

  3. I think mostly I don’t have the patience to take photos of my meals because by the time I’m done cooking I a) am really hungry and b) want to eat before my food gets cold. =) So I’m not going to wait around for that perfect shot.

  4. That looks yummy!

    Food shots are hard. I prefer to take pics of baked goods. Way easier.

Leave a Reply

