lazy saturday

glazed lemon cookies

Winter has really hit Chicago. I just about froze to death on my walk to the El yesterday so I decided that I was going to take advantage of a rare Saturday completely at home. Lame though it may sound, I am happy to report that I have not set foot outside my apartment today. The morning started off nice and lazy. I slept in (something I haven’t been able to do properly for weeks) and then enjoyed my morning coffee with some fabulous glazed lemon cookies.

This next picture is for Ivy.

mini christmas tree

I put up a mini Christmas tree (approximately 3′ tall) right after Thanksgiving. I didn’t take a proper picture of it though because I wanted to make a little tree skirt for it. Something I wasn’t able to do until today. (It only took me a week.) I adapted Simplicity 4842 for this version. The pattern as is makes a 44″ skirt and I obviously needed something smaller. I also patchworked each edge.

I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out.

watermelon tree skirt

I skipped the traditional Christmas color scheme and went with watermelon pink and green. I think it’s a lot more fun that way.

8 responses to “lazy saturday

  1. Hi,
    You knit a toy bear “Bobbi Bear” back in November 2006…I would love to knit it for my daughter and was wondering if this was a pattern? If so, what is the name …Thanks again!
    jodym7@yahoo.com

  2. I love lazy weekends. My hubby and I are homebodies, so we don’t mind staying at home. We both have our hobbies, so it keeps us busy. But now that I have Melody, my hobbies have taken a sideline.

  3. Forgot to say that I love the tree skirt! I was thinking of knitting one, but it would be covered in dog hair in 2 seconds. So no tree skirt.

  4. Oh, I like to spend a day completely inside every now and then. Those are good days. Btw, the link to the lemon cookies is broken and I’m really curious about the recipe.

  5. Link has been fixed. Definitely try out the recipe. It’s great.

  6. I had a lazy weekend myself. Aren’t they great? Those cookies look amazing, and your tree skirt is gorgeous! Great fabrics! 😀

  7. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Thanks!! This is definitely one of those times when size doesn’t matter 😀

    And I can’t stand how cute your tree skirt is!!! Like I said on Flickr, we have to order one of these from you next year to avoid another Bryson Poisoning Incident!

  8. The cookies look delish but that cup is just gorgeous…where did you get it from?

Leave a Reply

