the great reckoning

holiday treats from Angela
I hate to be a pessimist but I knew this winning streak had to end somehow. And so it ended…with a thirty degree (downward) swing in temps, half a foot of snow, and death cold from hell. I have hit this cold with everything in my arsenal (sudafed, dayquil, nyquil, zicam, airborne, cough drops, etc.) and everyday seems to bring another round of surprises. I’ve been coughing so much that my chest just aches and my ears are ringing. Today is Day 5, I think? I’m really, really stinkin’ tired of being sick. I had to go outside yesterday for a bit and with the windchill it was something like -15 degrees outside? I slipped and fell on an icy patch of sidewalk, got my car stuck in the snow, and promptly came home and burst into tears. I’m sorry if I sound like a big, fat wuss but after the week I’ve had, this was really more than I could bear. I’m working from home today….again. *sigh*

But I would be remiss not to mention the rare and random acts of kindness that draw me out of my funk. I got a package from Angela on Saturday filled with her delicious homemade treats. Homemade marshmallows are such a rare treat and the toffee and chocolate hazelnut cookies are so very, very delicious. So often I’m the one baking for other people; it’s so rare to get some home-baked treats that I really relished these treats. Thank you Angela…you’re timing was impeccable!

And before the death illness set in, I ordered some great fabrics.
Heather Ross Mendocino
from the Heather Ross Mendocino line via Cia’s Palette

Lush by Erin Michael
Lush by Erin Michael via Pink Chalk Fabrics

I would highly recommend ordering fabrics from either place. They both have great selection and fantastic turnaround times. I got both shipments within two days of placing my order.

Tomorrow I’m flying home for the holidays. I hate flying (especially when sick) but I have to confess that I’ve never been so excited about going home in my entire life. I’m really worn out and just plain sick of Chicago. I really hope the weather doesn’t delay or cancel my flight! I hope none of you are sick and I hope that are enjoying the holidays with friends and family.

5 responses to “the great reckoning

  1. Aww, I’m sorry it’s been such a crappy week. Safe travels, Merry Christmas, and here’s to healthier days. 🙂

  2. Oh, Sara, get home safely, get better and enjoy the holidays. I know what it feels like to move to a new city and not like it. That’s how I felt when I first moved to New Mexico. The first winter I got the nastiest cold and was sure my new city was trying to kill me, it’s like it thought I was a new and dangerous pathogen and its white blood cells were set on destroying me. My boss at the time was also new to the city and got the same cold and that’s the conclusion we came to!

  3. Oh boy, I hope you feel better soon! Last time I flew when I had a cold my eardrums hurt so bad I thought they were going to burst! Hope you don’t have to suffer through that… And boy, maybe I should start taking some preventative medicine coz as karma goes, it might be my turn as well… 😛 Oh, btw, love the deer fabric! Have a happy holiday home!

  4. I am glad that I could brighten up your day. Get well soon and have fun at home.

  5. Good luck getting home tomorrow. If you are heading for Seattle, you should have no problem. Even though there is lots of snow, my plane last night got in right on time. The cab ride that got us almost home was pretty exciting though. Luckily our luggage ended up in Texas so we didn’t have to walk home dragging it in the snow. For a cough, my doctor says they just figured out that the only thing that really works is Ibuprofen and guaifenesin (as in Mucinex or Robitussun). Her explaination was pretty through and convincing.

Leave a Reply

