old man winter


snow in the countryside, originally uploaded by poohba02.

This is a detail of a woodblock print by Kamisaka Sekka (1866-1942). This is also what I look like getting around Chicago these days. The snow started coming down the other day and judging from the 10 day forecast, doesn’t look to be letting up anytime soon. I just spent the last 45 minutes outside unearthing my car out from two feet of snow, in the hopes that it will only take me 20 minutes to unearth my car tomorrow morning. The snow is still coming down. Hard. Heaven help me. Lord, have mercy on me.

Thank you dear friends (old and new) for your words of encouragement. I just had to throw that little tantrum….I was (still am) so worn down and so exhausted I just couldn’t take it anymore. Tomorrow is the first day, I don’t have to go to work or class. I’m so psyched. I’m going to do some cooking for the week and catch up on my studies. Can’t wait.

2 responses to “old man winter

  1. Geez, I am so glad that my sister and bf didn’t move there. It’s cold, windy and now all that snow! Stay warm. I hope you finish your quilt soon so you can snuggle underneath it.

  2. enjoy your day off, chick. it is well-deserved! and try not to think of it as driving a snow-covered car, think of it as driving a margarita! 😉 (at least that’s how i thought of it when i was living in pittsburgh) 😛

Leave a Reply

