take me away


an evening at mercat, originally uploaded by poohba02.

I need a benefactor. Chicago is a dangerous place for a poor foodie like me. Too many nice restaurants and not enough $$$. (Contrary to popular belief, not all lawyers make a ton of $$$.) Last night, I went out to Mercat a la Planxa with D, one of my best friends from college who’s in town this week. D and I are both die hard foodies and it was fun to throw financial caution to the wind and grossly over indulge. The tapas were great. We got a fabulous table overlooking the entire restaurant and I got to try foie gras for the first time (loved it). Add to that, the fun of catching up with an old friend and it was a perfect evening. Just what the doctor ordered.

But I had to laugh a little. I think I spent more on dinner than on the outfit I wore to dinner. Crazy, right?

5 responses to “take me away

  1. Oh God, that looks delicious and indulgent. It’s really the same way here. I use to feel bad about not being able to enjoy all the great NYC restaurants. But I realize it makes it more special if it’s a once in a while treat or special occassion. Thank goodness for the cheap eats in Chinatown.

  2. Oh my…that food looks amazing! At least when you spend a lot of $$$ there, you get some really good food. Here in Kansas City, you spend a lot and the food is *meh*…wishing I was in Chicago right now. 😦 BTW, I dig the outfit. 🙂

  3. MMmmm that looks SO good. I had some foie gras this weekend too, but it was weird. I think they seared it, and paired it with some honey and some hazelnuts… I generally like it better in a simpler presentation..

  4. Dances with Corgis

    Tapas piss me off. I ALWAYS spend more money than I plan at Tapas. Those darn “small plate” look so cute but never satiate me! So I have like 8 of them and then am stuck with a giant bill. And if you’re there in a group ordering a bunch of tapas? Fuggedaboutit.

    You are correct- Chicago is a great town to be a foodie in!

    Have you gone to Mr. Beef? My dirtbag fav place 🙂

  5. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Foie gras… YUM!!! Be careful though, they’re super addictive. And not just bad for your wallet, also for your cholesterol… But Oh. So. Good.

Leave a Reply

