a finishing problem

weekend supper
The kitchen continues to be my primary outlet these days. (I have to eat, right?) This weekend’s big supper was chicken sundried tomato sausage (from Trader Joe’s) with broccoli rabe (my new favorite vegetable) and butternut squash polenta. I also baked up a batch of World Peace Cookies (sorry no picture) and I can’t say enough nice things about them. They are the perfect cookie when you want a good chocolate fix.

Lately, I’ve also debated about how much longer I might keep this blog going? Between all the time I spend on the computer at work, posting pics on flickr, reading bloglines, and Facebook, I’ve been suffering from some massive internet fatigue. I’m still in a major crafting rut. I have a mountain of unfinished projects. And I hate having a blog sitting around for weeks between updates. I think I’m going to have to reevaluate in the coming weeks.

"It's about time lazy lady."
All that said, I miraculously managed to finish a crafty project this weekend. This is Squarey from Jess Hutch’s Unusual Knitted Toys for You to Knit and Enjoy (now sadly out of print). I rarely stick with the same color scheme as a pattern but lately I’ve been on a big orange kick. This was an easy and fun knit, actually begun before the bar exam. I just didn’t get around tothe seaming until last weekend and adding the arms and legs this weekend. (I told you I had a finishing problem, right?) Squarey, fortunately, is a patient little guy. I just love him. =)

9 responses to “a finishing problem

  1. nooo! you cannot give up the blog! where else will i get crafty inspiration from??? 😦

  2. ADORABLE. Squarey looks so cute, and your blog always makes me hungry!

    And I don’t mind the weeks between posts!

  3. I understand you must do what is best for you at this time in your life. But your closing your blog would be so sad.

    p.s. Your food makes me hungry. Never fails.

  4. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Oh, no no no, you can't stop blogging! I thought you meant you wanna spread it out, as in posting less frequently. Imagine without a blog we'd never have met (cyber-ly speaking, of course :>)

    And as a lame cook myself, I've always been inspired by your cooking. Did I mention that we made your gourmet mac and cheese one time and thought I'd died and gone to heaven??

    BTW, I've decided to "upgrade" to a fancier typepad version, will keep you posted. I'm also banking on this change to re-energize my sluggish blogging πŸ™‚

  5. The food looks fantastic and Squarey is so cute! Please don’t leave! You need to take the pressure off of yourself and blog only when you want to.

  6. i just found your via flickr, and i hope you dont give up on your blog. i feel the same as you tho, maybe its the chicago weather??? i am in a crafting slump that i cant seem to get out of.i am enjoying looking at all your lovely projects tho, especially your square couch potato! cute.

  7. tadasrevolution

    Squarey is my absolute favorite! One of these days I will learn to knit.

    I often debated about that same question, whether to keep both the blog and Flickr. I do have some blog exclusive viewers, and since it’s not too fuzzy to maintain, I think I’ll keep it around.

  8. tadasrevolution

    fussy, not fuzzy. Sorry I’m all ami brained.

  9. Squarey is adorable! πŸ™‚

    I sure hope you decide to keep the blog going — your crafts and delicious looking kitchen creations always inspire me! I agree with Oiyi, don’t feel pressured to blog when you’re not in the mood… your true fans will still be checking for updates regardless of the amount of time in between. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

