stuffed


beaut all dressed up and ready to go, originally uploaded by poohba02.

Thanks for all the lovely comments people. I’m still on the fence regarding the future of this blog. I need to think about it some more over the coming weeks. It’s nice having a forum to discuss my creative pursuits, whether they be crafty or culinary, when I have room for those things in my life. At the same time, I think I’m just suffering from *severe* exhaustion on many fronts. I am TIRED with a capital T. I’m working on pin-pointing the source but hope you’ll still follow along here when I do get around to posting and forgive me if that isn’t necessarily every week.

Do you ever just get overwhelmed by the amount of creative output in the blogosphere? I do. Often. The number of creative blogging folks out there is just staggering. It drives me a little nuts actually because during my stray free moments at work, I’ll peruse the blogs and then get the itch to do 500 different projects. I would love nothing more than to be able to sit around and sew and cook all day long. The reality though, when I get home from work (and these days, that is often very, very late), I barely have enough energy to brush my teeth before I collapse into bed. On a good week, I feel fortunate to tackle one creative and one culinary venture a week.

I can’t complain though. I’m so grateful to be working right now. Lately, I can hardly bear to read the news. It seems like every few days I read of another law firm doing mass lay-offs or altogether going under. These are scary times for the newly minted lawyer…even more so if you’re like me and waiting for bar exam results. Results are supposed to come out soon and some days when I let myself dwell on it, I can drive myself batty thinking about all the various contingencies.

Sorry, I didn’t mean for this post to be such a downer. You’re probably wondering about this sweet little koala? This is the one little project I was able to squeeze out of the weekend. She has been on my to-do list for quite some time now–a much belated gift for a friend’s little one. I’d hoped for some better lighting today but the weather has not been cooperating. This was a good stash-busting project using some pretty vintage reproduction remnants that I had. I made her using Melly & Me’s Bonzer & Beaut pattern from Pink Chalk Fabrics. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t crazy about the pattern/directions. They weren’t as clear as I would’ve liked. Still, it was a relatively quick project. I love the way she turned out and I hope she will be well received.

6 responses to “stuffed

  1. I know it is hard to keep up with your creative endeavors…but don’t let yourself feel overwhelmed by this bloggy world. The good thing is that it’s always available to you even after a long absence.
    Have a great week!!

  2. i concur…plus, no one says you can’t take a sabbatical, ya know? everyone needs some time away to rest and refresh…just my 2 cents. 🙂

  3. Don’t worry, we’ll still be here when you have time! Just take the time to relax… you’ll pinpoint the source of stress I’m sure of it!

    I get overwhelmed with the crafty world all the time… especially when I look at my google reader and it was 1000 unread posts…

  4. Ditto what Lynn said, we will still be here even if you take a break.

    Thank you for the review of that pattern. I have been admiring their patterns. That bear is beyond cute!! I love sewn dolls/stuffies. And that apron is a perfect addition. Those are pretty fabrics you chose.

    I do get overwhelmed by the blog world. I wish I had time to sit in front of my sewing machine. But I have made peace with the fact that knitting is my thing right now. It’s portable so it fits into my hectic lifestyle right now.

  5. metrosupialdesigns

    When you finish little projects like this it must feel good!

    Congrats on your passing the B and Spring will come soon!

  6. Ivy@PaperElixir

    That’s a “quick” weekend project? ;P It will be many moons before I’ll have your sewing skills 🙂

    Now that you know you passed your bar, hopefully the sense of being overwhelmed has eased up a bit and you can continue to enjoy all the crafting and blogging!

Leave a Reply

