spring to finish…

First, thanks for everyone who dropped by to share in the good news and congratulate me. Words cannot describe how RELIEVED I am about passing the Illinois Bar exam. With any luck this will be the LAST bar exam I ever take. (Fingers crossed.) Still, I’m sure you’ve gathered from my recent posts that I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. I have now been in Chicago for over six months and am still a bit out of sorts in my (still new to me) place. My current apartment, while still a decent size for Chicago, is much smaller than apartments I lived in when I was in Minnesota. There is significantly less space to spread out and even less storage space. I’m a person who gets stressed out by clutter so often the thought of unearthing a massive craft project after a long day at work just makes me a basketcase. I feel like I have fabric coming out of my ears and WIPs a mile-high. Maybe it’s just the urge to spring clean but I feel like I need to weed out, organize, and rethink how I’m going to live and work in this space since I’m stuck there until at least September.

Which is why, I was pleased to see this at Tallgrass Prairie Studio:

Alternative Name

A proverbial (but necessary) kick in the pants. I love making lists so here are my goals for April:

  1. Finish the quilt I started back in December.
  2. Finish the summer blouse from Heather Ross’ Weekend Sewing. I need to sew in the second sleeve and fiddle around with the fit. The project stalled out because I was really unhappy with the fit. I don’t know how much wear I will get out of this project but I just want to have it done with.
  3. Finish the top from a Japanese sewing book that I have. I have it all cut out and ready to sew. I just haven’t built up the requisite patience to sew it.
  4. Take inventory of my fabric stash and reorganize everything so it’s in some workable order. (This I may not finish in April.)

I wish I could aim to tackle a longer list but most of my crafting time is limited to the weekends and I will be going out of town this weekend. Knowing that I’m already down one weekend I’ve been pushing myself to do a little sewing after work. It’s been challenging but rewarding. I’ve made really good progress on the quilt:

oh fransson finished quilt top

I started quilting it last night (very simple straight line quilting as I still SUCK at free-motion). This may not look like much progress from where I left off in December but this is the product of loads of work. I’ve been making the pattern up as I go so there has been some adjustments in measurements, healthy use of the seam ripper, and some moving things around. When things weren’t lining up properly I had to entirely re-do the horizontal sashing at the top and the bottom of the quilt. Why is it that it takes 10 minutes to sew something but 30 minutes to rip it out??

Anyway, I’m proud of the progress I’ve made so far and I have to say unearthing those old WIPs and tackling them feels really, really good. Now if only we can start getting some actual spring weather around here….then maybe I won’t be so sleepy all the time!

7 responses to “spring to finish…

  1. your quilt is beautiful! just like everything you make. πŸ˜‰

  2. Lvoe the colors in the quilt. It will be gorgeous!

  3. You quilt is beautiful! Can’t wait to see how you decided to quilt it. I always free motion quilt because I’m too lazy to think of a pattern…

  4. LOVE the quilt!

  5. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Love the quilt, the colors are so calming πŸ™‚ Oh, my new machine just came in today! Been trying to sew a few straight lines, what a difference a functional machine makes! πŸ˜€ “Free motion sewing” sounds very advanced, it’s way in the back of my manual, think I’ll tackle that many (many…) moons later.

  6. Beautiful quilt! I love the fabric design you used & the way it pops.
    xo,
    Linnea

  7. The quilt looks fabulous! It will be so worth all the effort when it’s finished and you can enjoy using it.

Leave a Reply

