phew….

quilt front
Finally! A quilt! Done! I am so proud I can barely speak. Not because I think my quilt is *that* special. Rather because I had an idea of what I wanted this quilt to be. I did some math and made up a pattern and I followed through on this project to its completion. Bonus that I managed to use up an entire bag of scraps from my Oh-Fransson box o’ scraps. And though it is rife with little mistakes here and there, I learned a TON in the process. A part of me feels like I’ve been quilting forever but I just realized that this is only quilt #3…although by far the largest I’ve made to date. I haven’t measured it yet but it’s probably around 56″ x 56″.

quilt back
Here’s the back. I love the Anna Maria Horner fabric I used for the backing! The solid strips are bits of Kona cotton from the stash and I was able to use the very last little bits of scraps from the front to join the solid strips together. No waste on this quilt! I stuck with the single direction diagonal quilting. I used a bamboo/cotton batting and I love how it shrunk and crinkled up with all the cotton fabrics I used. I like to think of this as my first “grown-up” quilt in that this is the first quilt I felt confident enough to use nice fabrics and batting for.

closeup of two-tone binding
And here’s perhaps the niftiest thing (to me at least) of all. I loved all the suggestions I got on the what color to bind the quilt with but there just wasn’t a clear consensus. And I really, really couldn’t make up my mind. I did a little research online and found this tutorial on how to make two-tone quilt binding. It really wasn’t that hard and I’m generally pleased with the final effect. I would probably do it a little differently next time but overall I felt like it allowed me to have the best of both worlds on this quilt–a very modern looking quilt front and a bright, springy quilt back.

Now more than ever I am in absolute awe with all the talented people out there who seem to pump out quilts at an alarming pace! I don’t know how they do it! I feel like I need a break before I can think about tackling another one of these!

10 responses to “phew….

  1. I feel the same way about quilts. And I have only made 2 baby quilts and 1 bigger one.

    The two toned binding is pure genius! I love it. The whole quilt is gorgeous. You should be so proud.

  2. ohthatashley

    I LOVE the two toned binding! Congrats on finishing your quilt–it looks great and now you’ll be all warm and toasty next winter πŸ™‚

  3. oh, wow! sara, it’s beauuutiful! and the 2 tone binding is pretty darn nifty! bravo, chica! another amazing creation from sara. πŸ™‚

  4. That is just gorgeous. Really. I would love to have a quilt like that. And the two-tone binding is super cool, I’ve never seen that before.

  5. looks great, dude.

    and the two-tone binding is just perfect. glad you did it b/c i was sad that you weren’t going with the grey which seemed more “you” to me. πŸ™‚ great compromise.

  6. awesome. I want one. You’ve made me consider learning how to quilt with all the free time I now seem to have…

  7. kyle@kunnecke.net

    love this washer/dryer set! πŸ™‚

  8. Ooh, exciting! The quilt looks great, so happy you finished it!

  9. The quilt is gorgeous!!!

  10. Ivy@PaperElixir

    Yay! You must be so proud of the final result, it looks amazing with that 2-tone binding! I’ve gotta learn how to do that too as I’m contemplating doing some baby blankets… πŸ™‚ Keep quilting (and sharing your tips!)

Leave a Reply

