rinse, lather, repeat

I take great comfort in routines. I get much pleasure from repetitive, detail oriented tasks. So quite often on my days off, when I might instead be napping or staring at a television, I tackle labor intensive culinary projects. Yesterday was no exception. I set aside some time to make one of my favorite foods: crab rangoon. Here’s my take on this kitschy classic.

Sara’s Crab Rangoon
Ingredients
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 tablespoon minced celery
1/2 teaspoon Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon light soy sauce
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
3 green onions, finely sliced
1 large clove garlic, smashed, peeled, and finely minced
6 ounce can of crab meat, drained and flaked
1 package wonton wrappers
1 small bowl water
Vegetable oil for deep-frying, as needed

1. Combine first seven ingredients until well combined. Fold in the drained, flaked crab meat.

stuffing
2. On a flat surface, lay out a wonton wrapper. Place one tablespoon of filling in the center of wrapper. Wet the edges of the wonton wrapper with water. Bring up four corners together and pinch together to create a seal. It is imperative you create a tight seal and leave no air pockets in the wonton, otherwise it will burst when frying.

3. Keep the completed Crab Rangoon covered with a damp towel or paper towel to keep them from drying out while preparing the remainder. Here’s a whole tray of them ready to go.
folded and ready

4. Add oil to a heavy pan for deep-frying. (I used a 5.5 cast iron dutch oven.) Add enough to completely immerse your wontons. When oil is ready (the temperature should be between 360 – 375 degrees), carefully slide in the Crab Rangoon, taking care not to overcrowd the pan. (I fry three or four at a time.) Deep-fry until they are golden brown, about 3 minutes, turning once. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain. Enjoy!
all fried up

Recipe makes approximately 24 wontons. Serve hot with spicy, sweet and sour sauce. (Recipe follows.)

Spicy Sweet and Sour Sauce
Ingredients
1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
1 1/2 teaspoon sambal oelek (garlic chile sauce)

Mix vinegar and sugar in small pot and bring to a boil. Simmer gently for ten minutes until sugar is dissolved and sauce starts to thicken. Remove from heat and stir in soy sauce and sambal. Sauce will thicken upon standing.

6 responses to “rinse, lather, repeat

  1. I am going to make this one. You just wait and see. Confession: I just ate some lobster rangoon I bought in the freezer section of target…

  2. Ok that looks delicious. I had no idea what a crab rangoon was until a couple years ago but now i’m craving them!

  3. Hi Sara! Just came across your blog via Just the little things! Your blog is so funny and filled with awesome sewing projects – I wanna give the quilt a try. I’m also from Chicago but uprooted and moved to Iowa for my husband’s residency. I read somewhere that you aren’t really liking Chicago? Well, Iowa is pretty lonesome and UNinspiring. Anyway, I felt a connection going on with you (and our names are Sarah/Sarah too!) since we both love to eat and craft. Will be back for more! Congrats on passing bar exam!!

  4. I adore crab rangoons! It’s one of guilty pleasures. I grew up eating them in New England, but the ones in NYC are sub par. They don’t call them crab rangoons in NYC either.

  5. How I wish you live down the street from us 😉

Leave a Reply

