a minor obsession

YIP 365.94: grace

goonie rock

YIP 365.96: full
1. grace, 2. the goonie rock, 3. puget sound/chambers bay

Perhaps because I spent the bulk of my childhood in boring, landlocked states far from any source of water, I find myself as an adult so drawn to dramatic landscapes and large bodies of water. In fact, I’m quite uneasy if I’m not near some kind of water–frankly, the bigger, the better. Water calms me in a way that few other things can. (Somewhat ironic, considering that I’m a terrible swimmer.) I can’t say if this near compulsive need to be near water was ever a conscious part of my decision-making on where to live or where to go but tracing back over the last ten years, I realize I was never far from it: the Potomac River, the Charles River, the Mississippi River, Puget Sound, Lake Michigan.

I spent as much of my vacation as possible in or by the water–walking by it, gawking at it, taking pictures, splashing around in it. I just couldn’t help it, which is why, second to food photos, photos of the water see to dominate. (Speaking of water, there was this fascinating piece on deep sea diving in last week’s New Yorker.)

3 responses to “a minor obsession

  1. I miss being near water despite also being a weak swimmer. There is something soothing about it. And bodies of water have so many different personalities.

  2. these photos are gorgeous! and i also love being near a body of water… it’s funny to me that i am so close to water now, but in florida we have to drive 2 hours to the coast!

  3. Pingback: adventures in film « rhymes with spoon

Leave a Reply

