11.7: progression

365.154: anticipation

today

365.155: payoff

in case you’re curious, made using the recipe from my new pioneer woman cookbook. easy as can be and *super* tasty!

some notes:

  • since i’m not feeding an army, i halved the recipe and then prepped and baked half of my dough. this yielded about a dozen cinnamon rolls. i’ll bake off the rest of my dough in a day or two.  (recipe says the dough is good for up to 3 days.)
  • i prepped everything the night before, which i highly recommend. then i pulled out the rolls and let them come up to room temperature while the oven preheated.  while i waited (impatiently) for them to bake, all i had to do was brew a pot of coffee and make the glaze.
  • i modified the glaze since i didn’t have maple extract and didn’t want to go to the store.  i used 1 cup sugar + 1 tsp. vanilla + 2 tbsp. cream + 2 tbsp. milk.  that was the perfect amount for 12 rolls and the right consistency for a thick but pourable glaze.
4 responses to “11.7: progression

  1. They look heavenly! I like that you can prep the night before. I am all about prep work to make the next day go smoothly. Would you recommend this book?

    • It depends. A big criticism of the book has been that she basically took her blog and dumped it into a book. As far as I can tell, there are few recipes in the book that aren’t already on her website. If you’re more of a website person and you can print up recipes easily, I’d say stick with the website. A lot of times it’s easier for me just to have a book hand. The book isn’t too expensive, and it is nice to have all her recipes in one place. I’ve tried a lot of her recipes and have liked them all. And I think this is a good cookbook for people who don’t cook much. I’m planning on giving some as gifts this Christmas.

  2. they look perfect. i think this might be what i’m baking this weekend when e is here- he loves cinnamon rolls!
    and, um, that mug?! so cute! can i be obnoxious and ask where it’s from?

  3. Thanks for the review of the book! I am very curious as I too love a lot of her recipes from her blog. I think I like having the book… I’m going to put it on my amazon wish list, thanks!

Leave a Reply

