11.13: another two thumbs up

Picture 2777

Picture 2775

Picture 2773

Picture 2776

My creation

YIP 365.161: doug's

duck fat fries!

Meal #5: Hot Doug’s, The Sausage Superstore and Encased Meat Emporium, 3324 North California, Chicago, IL 60618

Another meal where I was a bit wary because this place has had a lot of hype and attention. Another meal where I left happy, full, and impressed. I’m beginning to think my brother has excellent restaurant karma. Yes, the lines are long (although we came relatively early and only 15-20 minutes, the line was MUCH longer when we left). Yes, the hot dogs aren’t cheap ($7-$10 for any of the specialty dogs, but the ingredients are high quality and the difference is quite noticeable). Service is polite, fast, and efficient. And I was impressed to see Doug himself working the register. Always nice to see an owner working a place even after it becomes famous.

Tim had the famed Foie Gras and Sauternes Duck Sausage with Truffle Aioli, Foie Gras Mousse and Sel Gris. I had the Mole and Chipotle Smoked Chicken Sausage with Jalapeno Mayonnaise and Habanero-Jack Cheese, a weekly special. We split a batch of their also famous duck fat fries (Fridays and Saturdays only) with sides of chili and nacho cheese. I’ll be napping, knitting, and doing laundry in order to gear up for tonight’s BIG dinner at L2o. More soon. (Hope you’re not too tired of all these food posts.)

4 responses to “11.13: another two thumbs up

  1. I absolutely LOVE that a Real Housewife of Orange County was the “Celebrity” Sausage. Holla!

  2. ooooooooooh!!! L2o!!!

  3. Ok seriously, you have me drooling. I will NEVER get tired of food posts!

  4. Omg, sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

