TGIF

YIP 365.231: o hai (again)!

IMG_3259

Work has been seriously cramping my crafting/sleeping/general living schedule but yesterday I had a nice chunk of time (that really should’ve been spent doing other stuff frankly) to sew sew sew. Here’s the result, a pretty professional looking top that I’d love to make again. It fits fairly well (I may make minor adjustments in future versions) and is super comfortable.

Here are the specs…
Pattern: Simplicity 2599, View D
Fabric: a black grey/woven
Price: app. $10 for pattern and fabric
Time: a couple of hours (mostly because I was really fussy about the finishing)
Inspired by: stitchindye’s version
Notes: I think I screwed up the ruffle placement on this and I definitely get why people have said that this top should be made in a light, drapey fabric. The ruffles along the neck don’t lie quite as flat as I’d like. The fabric I used was more like a very light oxford shirting and a wee bit too structured for a top like this. Still, I’m really happy with the way this turned out and see this getting a lot of wear. This fabric frays like crazy so I was fussy and did French seams. Added some time to the process but I’m really glad I did it.

I’ve got more sewing planned this weekend although those plans may get ditched. I’ve been staving off a cold and have a bit of a stomach bug so sleep so sleep and TV seems more likely. TGIF!

7 responses to “TGIF

  1. It looks great! I wish I could whip up something werable in that amount of time (or any amount of time lol)

  2. wow, sara! the top looks great!!

  3. that really suits you!

  4. Your shirt is WAY cute! I will have to add that to my ever growing list of things to make…

  5. it’s beautiful, and it looks great on you!
    i am catching up here… hope all is well sara!
    xo

Leave a Reply

