swapping

bag for chawne

bag side view

bag interior

I had such a productive weekend.  A lot of sewing, a ton of baking (really, a TON), some crocheting, and a good deal of time in front of the TV watching the Olympics.  This is a project that’s been giving me some trouble. It’s a bag I made for a swap with cauchy09. (In return I’m getting a pair of gorgeous mittens.) The finished bag is about 10″x12″ and has an adjustable nylon webbing strap. It’s large enough to carry a wallet, a cell phone, keys, and a book or a magazine. (This is a remake of a bag I made a few years ago.) This bag tried my patience like none other. Getting the piping and the side pleats just right required a lot of time with the seam ripper. But I think this one turned out much more finished and professional looking than my first version and I hope Chawne’s happy with it. I cut out another version of Simplicity 2599 over the weekend and am hoping that if the week isn’t too busy that I’ll have another top to show you soon!

4 responses to “swapping

  1. Wow, this looks seriously professional! I love the side profile, what a cute trim, that pleat does look complicated, well done! Your swap partner is seriously lucky 🙂

    BTW, a belated Happy Chinese New Year/ Valentine’s Day to you as well 🙂

  2. the pig fabric is SO friggin’ CUTE!!! love it.

  3. It’s so awesome! I noticed the piping and pleating right away. Looks so professional.

  4. Great work on that bag!! I cannot even imagine doing something so complicated yet. I love the fabrics you chose as well. You inspire me to sew!

Leave a Reply

