shooting star

IMG_3563

spirit

step 1

step 2

YIP 365.246: o hai!

glow
a night at the Comet Cafe

February is one of my least favorite months. It’s short and it sits in that dreadful part of winter that feels almost endless and yet must be endured. Today I am reeling. Still dumbfounded that it’s March, a month that is already so full and over scheduled that I’m already wanting to sit down and catch my breath, so I’m going to think back on the strange and wonderful week I just had.

This weekend, an old college friend and I drove up to Milwaukee for the day to check out the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit at the Milwaukee Public Museum. While I’m glad to have seen the exhibit, I think my friend and I really had an ulterior motive–to enjoy a night of all-you-can-eat bacon. Long time readers know how much I adore bacon (more recent readers need only look to the last post) and the prospect of all-you-can-eat bacon a mere 90-minute drive away seemed too good of an opportunity to pass up, so after a couple of hours wandering the museum, we wandered over to the Comet Cafe.

On Sunday nights after 5:30, a drink purchase (in our case, a tall glass of Three Floyds Pride & Joy on special for a mere $2.50) comes with a bottomless basket of bacon. But woe to those who try to make it to a second basket. We tried and tried and tried but after we got through about 2/3 of the basket, we threw in the towel feeling the early pangs of a serious meat coma. (The picture of me above is in the very early stages when I was still quite enthused about the bacon and the beer.) It should be pointed out that we did get other “real” food because we thought it’d be a little too intense to just stick with the beer and bacon. And the food is definitely worth trying. There are plenty of good hearty options, none very expensive. I settled on, oddly enough, a vegan salisbury steak with mashed potatoes and asparagus. It was quite good, although the waiter got a good laugh when he saw me nibbling on bits of bacon in between mouthfuls of vegan steak.

I’m not sure I would drive to Milwaukee just to repeat this experience (probably a good thing for my heart) but I’m glad to have tried it out. But certainly, if I’m back in Milwaukee for something else, I’ll drop in for a bite to eat and maybe a little bacon too.

Comet Cafe, 1947 N. Farwell Ave., Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

4 responses to “shooting star

  1. wow, sara…of all the pics i’ve seen of you, i think you look happiest in this one. can’t imagine why… 😉

  2. All-you-can-eat BACON! Now *that’s* a great idea! 🙂

  3. OMG, a basket of bacon!!!

  4. I was thinking the same thing as the first commentor- I think that’s the happiest photo I’ve seen of you (at least on your blog)! Cheers to bacon!

Leave a Reply

