everest

the best kebabs!

masala naan

I’ve decided that Friday nights are the perfect time to eat out. By the end of the work week, I am far too tired to cook, let alone to wash dishes, and a great meal is the perfect way to jump start the weekend. Last Friday, I trekked up to Evanston to meet a friend at Mt. Everest Restaurant, a place I’d been curious about since reading about it on Lottie + Doof’s Chicago Guide. The restaurant specializes in Indian and Nepalese food and was well worth the short trip up to Evanston.

I still haven’t been to the many Indian restaurants on Devon but, minus a place or two, have been otherwise grossly underwhelmed by the Indian restaurants in Chicago. A quick run-down of some of the places I’ve been:

  • Curry House: A little too far from my office to make it a regular place to eat, but the lunch buffet here is great. Bonus points because they bring fresh, hot naan to the table if you get the buffet.
  • India House: Standard Indian fare. Not bad but a bit on the pricey side.
  • Hema’s Kitchen: Went there on the recommendation of an Indian friend. Unfortunately, it wasn’t good.
  • Essence of India: In my neighborhood. Went there once for takeout and got horrific food poisoning. Suffice to say, I won’t be going back.

But I digress…this is, after all, a post on why I’ll be going back to Mt. Everest, and don’t let my crummy pictures fool you. The food was fantastic…I was just too hungry and distracted to take better pictures.

The server brought us a basket of papadums and a chutney tray to start. We also ordered some vegetable samosas as appetizers. The samosas were expertly fried although the filling wasn’t particularly flavorful. For the meal, we ordered the reshmi kebab (a chicken kebab marinated in sour cream, which came highly recommended by several people), bhuetko cauli (a Nepalese tomato cauliflower dish), peas palau, and masala naan. Everything was good but the reshmi kebab was the runaway hit. I can see why everyone tells you to order it. It doesn’t look like much coming out (like a boring chicken kebab) but it was so soft, moist, and flavorful. Days later I’m still wishing for another plate. Service was a bit slow at times but the restaurant was also packed. Otherwise, no complaints. I’ll be definitely going back for a plate of the reshmi kebabs soon.

Mt. Everest Restaurant, 630 Church St., Evanston

8 responses to “everest

  1. So glad you liked it, Sara! That reshmi kebab really is one of the best things to eat in the Chicago area.

  2. a nice meal is always a nice way to end the long crazy week, esp when the food is good. i have to agree, i’ve too busy eating & not taking pictures. i forget half way through the meal. oh well! have a good week!

  3. I feel affirmed that you also did not like Hema’s. The last time I went there (the only time) the service was completely horrendous and the food was … sufficient. Well, it was mostly fine, the okra was pretty damn tasty but incredibly greasy, and perhaps this is TMI but after the meal I got this really amazing heartburn/painful gas combo. Fun times. And as you know I’m used to eating spicy food and food with lots of bold flavors, etc, so there’s just no good reason for that. BOO to that place.

    I did get to go to the Indian Garden downtown – on or around Grand? (I didn’t drive) – and liked that. There’s really beautiful decor and the food was delicious. I think it was a Friday when we went and they were packed, which was good and bad. You’d definitely need a reservation. But it might be a nice post-work Friday spot!

    • Yes, the service was also terrible at Hema’s when I went and everything I ate was REALLY greasy. I will have to check out Indian Garden some time and of course I must get over to Devon to get a big plate of that samosa chat that looked so amazing in your photo. Everest is a bit of a trek from where you guys are at, but I think it’s worth checking out!

  4. That looks so good, even at 9 am!

  5. Friday nights are perfect for eating out. Often, we order take-out on Friday nights. It’s like a treat for me since I cook the rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

